Main Menu

Leiviska & Allen win the BSF

Cale Leiviska and Catrina Allen are your 2012 Beaver State Fling Champions!

Cale Leiviska came from the bottom of the lead card in the final round of the Beaver State Fling, presented by Keen Footwear, to shoot a tournament best 1072 rated round of -10 on the East Course at Milo McIver Park to win his first National Tour Event of the year with a -26 total for the tournament. Portland’s, Tim Skellenger had the local crowd cheering him on throughout the final 18 holes but finished one throw short of Leiviska to take second place at -25, followed by Will Schusterick in third at -23, and Nate Doss at -22. Leiviska played nearly flawless golf and looked confident and under control throughout the round. This big win will surely give him confidence and make him the odds on favorite as he heads home to play in the Minnesota Majestic SuperTour event next weekend in the twin cities.

Catrina Allen played strong consistent golf all weekend and held on to the lead she took into the final round to win the Open Women’s division crown with a +12 total for the event. Her +2 on the day was matched only by Paige Pierce, who edged Valarie Jenkins by one throw to take second place, three throws off the lead. The Ladies played the West Course at Milo Mciver Park today in the 18 hole final round played on yet another beautiful Oregon day.

Phil Arthur carded a -4 on the day to maintain the four throw lead he took into the day to win the Masters division over Patrick Brown, who matched Arthur’s -4. Arthur finished the event with a -6 total, Brown at -2, and Jonathan Baldwin finished in third place at even par for the tournament.

Jim Oates lost the three throw lead he took into the finals but his even par round of 61 was good enough to get him in to a playoff with Jeff Fiedler who shot -3 to tie Oates in regulation at even par for the tournament. In the playoff, it was Oates who was victorious over Fiedler. Rick Bailey also carded a -3 on the day to finish in third place with a +1 tournament total.

Bruce Sisson won the Senior Grandmasters division comfortably by 12 throws over Tom Bontempo.

The Stumptown Disc Golf Club and tournament directors, Jeff Hagerty and Jeff Mittl, hosted another fantastic event worthy of the National Tour and the world's best disc golfers. Their hard work and dedication was evident in every aspect of the event and one of the many reasons why it has garnered such an outstanding reputation in the disc golf world. Thanks also to Bryan Knudsen and Next Adventure Outdoor Store in portland for all of the support, which included meals for the players and staff.

Be sure to check out the complete results of this Pro National Tour Elite Series event, presented by Vibram Disc Golf at, as well as highlight videos to come later from Rob Berg of, and Next Adventure.