Main Menu

Disc Golf Hall Of Fame

Disc Golf Hall of Fame


In 1993, after two decades of organized disc golf, the time was right to create something that would honor those select few men and women that had dedicated so much of their lives to the development and growth of the sport. Following the guidelines that so many other great sports and organizations had already put in place, the Disc Golf Hall Of Fame was developed.

The Disc Golf Hall of Fame is an independent organization dedicated to the promotion of disc golf, its premier pioneers, and players. It was founded in 1993 by Lavonne Wolfe #580 of Huntsville, AL. Lavonne also created what is now known as the Headrick Memorial Museum, a collection of memorabilia that help describe the history of our sport, now housed at the International Disc Golf Center in Appling, GA.

The first round of inductees were nominated in 1993, forever immortalizing their significance and importance to the game of disc golf. The first member to be honored was, of course, the father of disc golf and founder of the PDGA, "Steady" Ed Headrick, PDGA #001 "Steady" Ed along with six others would be voted in for the official first class

Hall Of Fame Charter

Hall of Fame inductees shall be judged to fit the following standards:

  • Favorable standing and an honorable reputation within the disc golf community.
  • Made significant contributions to the sport of disc golf through development, promotion, leadership, and/or sportsmanship-that merit our recognition, remembrance and respect.
  • Gave back to the sport with a passion that transcends personal gain.
  • Dedicated at least 15 years of service to the disc golf community.

Each year, inductees are selected by the membership and introduced at the Disc Golf Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony.