Pages : 1 [2]

chappyfade
May 11 2006, 04:09 PM
There is nothing clear about Rodney's video. I'm still looking for my copy of the real video at home.

Chap



Found my video. That particular one looks like a foot fault, but only because it appears that Dave used the white disc as his marker disc. His left foot is behind the white disc, and the left foot is clearly in the air before he putts. Had there been a mini (and it appears there wasn't) in front of right foot, I'd say there was no foot fault.

If you want to see the foot fault clearly, go to the real video. Rodney's clip just isn't big enough or resolved enough to see it clearly, although it was certainly good enough to get people talking about it.

Chap

Lyle O Ross
May 11 2006, 04:19 PM
There is nothing clear about Rodney's video. I'm still looking for my copy of the real video at home.

Chap



Found my video. That particular one looks like a foot fault, but only because it appears that Dave used the white disc as his marker disc. His left foot is behind the white disc, and the left foot is clearly in the air before he putts. Had there been a mini (and it appears there wasn't) in front of right foot, I'd say there was no foot fault.

If you want to see the foot fault clearly, go to the real video. Rodney's clip just isn't big enough or resolved enough to see it clearly, although it was certainly good enough to get people talking about it.

Chap



I'm not sure I agree. Again, perhaps I am mistaken in my understanding of the rules and should drop Carlton a note but even if we assume that Dave was driving with his right foot behind a mini (which is what I would expect for most right hand throwers and is what I've seen from Dave in the past) his left foot "appears" to be well past his right foot (and presumably the mini) when he releases. Is that not a foot fault? I guess if we interpret the rule to mean a step has occurred only when his foot hits the ground, then the throw is legal but I'd want that clarified by the RC.

You might argue that the angle of the camera makes the whole thing unclear but what little I know about physiology suggests that given Dave's forward moment, his left foot would have to go past his right.

BTW - the entirety of Dave's motion is inconsistent with the use of his left foot as his marker foot. Furthermore, his motion is entirely consistent with past putts I've seen where he has used his right foot as his marker foot.

May 11 2006, 05:57 PM
his left foot "appears" to be well past his right foot (and presumably the mini) when he releases. Is that not a foot fault?



The only thing that matters are contact points. If his left foot is in the air (in front of the mini) when he releases, it doesn't matter since it's not a contact point. You could do a handstand with both your feet, and 99% of your body beyond the mark as long as nothing is contacting the ground except your left hand when you release the disc.

specialk
May 11 2006, 10:35 PM
Here's the deal as I understand it. Refer to the... um... tiny image below:
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y210/cydisc/feldfault.jpg

Dave is using his disc as a marker and straddling to the right to get around some trees. Then he executes what would normally be a legal step-through putt, assuming his right foot is on the lie. Except it's his left foot that is on the lie.

During his throw, Dave lifts his left foot (the one behind the marker) and steps foward and to the right. At the time of release, his left foot (the one that is supposed to be on the ground, behind the marker) is well ahead of the mark. That is a clear violation of

<font color="blue">Rule 803.04A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc</font>

What isn't clear is whether he was indeed called on it. The video shows that he missed the shot. I wonder, if he would have made it, whether he would have been called.

Jun 07 2006, 03:26 PM
I was showing Dave a photo I took of him doing a step through (jump) putt similar to the one in the video. It shows the disc to his left and the mini marking his lie in front of his right foot. He said that even though there may be no mini visible in the video clip, there almost certainly is one, either obscured by the grass or camouflaged by its color. I agree that it is very unlikely that he would put his left foot behind the mark and then step off his right foot while putting.
http://www.lakewooddiscgolf.com/Photos%202_files/FeldbergPutt.jpg

quickdisc
Jun 07 2006, 04:26 PM
I was showing Dave a photo I took of him doing a step through (jump) putt similar to the one in the video. It shows the disc to his left and the mini marking his lie in front of his right foot. He said that even though there may be no mini visible in the video clip, there almost certainly is one, either obscured by the grass or camouflaged by its color. I agree that it is very unlikely that he would put his left foot behind the mark and then step off his right foot while putting.
http://www.lakewooddiscgolf.com/Photos%202_files/FeldbergPutt.jpg



Nice photo !!!

quickdisc
Jun 07 2006, 07:05 PM
Now I see the mini !!!!! It's about two inches in front of his right foot. Kinda looks like a leaf.
http://www.lakewooddiscgolf.com/Photos%202_files/FeldbergPutt.jpg

quickdisc
Jun 16 2006, 05:47 PM
Can we ask him not to smoke cigarettes during the finals ?