Mooch
Jun 03 2009, 01:59 AM
So I was at a tournament this past weekend and I had a question about a island hole. The TD made a short hole a island hole to make it a bit more difficult. There was a creek behind it so you could go "OB". he made a drop zone so if you didn't make it on the island you would go to the drop zone. But there were players that would throw and it would land in the island but then skip into the water. would the player take there lie where the disc went out of bounds or go to the drop zone? From what I understand they would take the lie at the Drop zone because the disc never came to rest in the island.
cgkdisc
Jun 03 2009, 08:13 AM
Check the OB rule 803.09B(1) http://www.pdga.com/rules/80309-out-of-bounds
The TD can require players to use a drop zone when they go OB regardless what other options are normally available for your next lie.
jackinkc
Jun 03 2009, 03:16 PM
Thats the way we do it here in KC. You are either on the Island, or the drop zone. Now after you establish a lie on the island, regular OB rules apply.
In other words:
1) You throw long, go OB, goto Drop Zone
2) You throw short, next shot long, go to the Drop Zone
3) You go short, you hit the basket on shot 2, it rolls off the "island" you goto Drop Zone
4) Safe shot on the island, putt goes long, you go where it went off the "island"
Thats how we do it and we have a few manufactured Island holes here. I discuss it at every player meeting we have.
RhynoBoy
Jun 03 2009, 05:55 PM
4) Safe shot on the island, putt goes long, you go where it went off the "island"
.
Or your same previous lie!