Randy Sharp
May 18 2009, 01:33 PM
The parks department is doing some work in a lake that is OB, using a boat to assist their work. Late in the day, the large, flatbottom boat is anchored long ways to the edge of the bank, pin high of the basket.

Scenario:

I drive off the teebox with a hyzer over the lake. As my drive comes in toward the bank, it hits the inside edge of the boat and falls into the boat. My disc is dry and I have a playable lie from within the boat.

I ruled the disc O.B. because the bottom of the boat is surrounded by water, although one entire side is pulled up tightly next to the bank. Had the bottom of the boat been pulled onto the bank to any extend at all, I would rule the boat as part of the course.

Was the ruling correct? Thanks for commenting.

cgkdisc
May 18 2009, 02:14 PM
Purely a TD call. Typically, docks are considered inbounds when the dock is big enough to take a stance. That's an integral part of a hole at Sandy Point Resort in WI to play from the dock if you tee out over the water and never come back inbounds but travel over the dock on the route.

bruce_brakel
May 18 2009, 03:30 PM
I would agree with Chuck that the TD has to call this. It is one of those layered surfaces situations where one layer is designated as o.b. or i.b. [the water:o.b.] but your disc is on a different layer, the boat. But another consideration is whether you can go on the boat without permission. If you are trespassing by going on the boat, and the boat is not o.b., but violation of the law is grounds for disqualification, then it would have to be unplayable. In which case, as a player, you're better off arguing for it being o.b.

I don't think you're going to find a clear answer in the rules or the rules committee decisions.

JerryChesterson
May 18 2009, 03:52 PM
OB, the disc was surrounded by OB. I once landed on an island int he middle of a large creek and that is how it was ruled. The disc was dry and technically on land but totally surrounded by OB.

bruce_brakel
May 18 2009, 04:27 PM
OB, the disc was surrounded by OB. I once landed on an island int he middle of a large creek and that is how it was ruled. The disc was dry and technically on land but totally surrounded by OB.The island could also have been in bounds if the TD had called the islands inbounds. The TD probably called the outer edges of the creek o.b. and that would make the islands o.b. too. What is o.b. is always the TD's call. There is nothing that is always o.b. in the rules. Water is not o.b. unless the TD has called it.

gnduke
May 18 2009, 04:34 PM
Another consideration is whether the boat was in place for all players as they played that hole. It would not be fair to allow a larger landing area for some players that was not present for others.

jackinkc
May 18 2009, 05:48 PM
That is completely a TD call, but if you knew it was there, and didn't plan on it happening, shame on you. If it came in the middle of the round, it then is not the same rules for everyone, and would have to be addressed by the TD for ruling, play the provisional.

I for one would probably call it OB.

My reasoning would be similar to the argument its entirely surrounded by water comment. But if we knew it was going to be there during the rounds, the P&R said its cool to play from there, then I would say its good.

bruce_brakel
May 18 2009, 06:06 PM
If asked to call it before the player threw, as a TD I'd call it o.b., because we never intended anybody to be playing from boats. This is a disc golf tournament, not a salmon fishing tournament. The o.b. line was the edge of the lake, or Brett's paint stripe, and the disc was on the other side of the line. I'm sure we didn't make any exceptions for boats, docks, ducks or anything.

If I was calling it after the round was over, I would not overrule the player's call that it was o.b. That is a fair interpretation of the rules and he took a stroke penalty. If the whole group had called it in bounds and then some weasel who said nothing at the time wanted to get a second opinion, I might go with the "No quarter for weasels" rule. :D

I had a situation a couple of weeks ago where my disc slid down a foot bridge and then fell into a crack between two sections of the bridge but the disc was otherwise in bounds. It was just that the crack was too small for me to get a foot behind the disc and there was no room to mark it. The sides of the bridge came down to the ground also. My group was fine with me playing from behind the disc on the bridge, no penalty. My inclination was to play from there with a stroke for the unplayable relief, but I knew from past experience that the TD would agree with the group call.

the_kid
May 18 2009, 07:02 PM
OB, the disc was surrounded by OB. I once landed on an island int he middle of a large creek and that is how it was ruled. The disc was dry and technically on land but totally surrounded by OB.



I agree and think Chuck and Bruce are wrong about how it should come down to TD opinion.

Now like Chuck said if it is a part of the course and tied up right next to a dock with a basket the TD should state its play on that hole. The way I read it it didn't sound like it was even on a dock...........anyway it is surrounded by water in any case and should be played as OB unless the hole is also located on the dock and surrounded by OB.

cgkdisc
May 18 2009, 07:20 PM
I didn't say it should be TD opinion except before the round started. After the round started and no statement was made regarding the boat's IB/OB status, landing in the boat fully over the water would have to be OB as the default if the water was also OB. If the boat was pulled up so part of it was on shore, then it would sort of be like giant leaf that fell on the playing surface partly over both ground and water or long grass that's laying over onto an OB cement sidewalk. You would project down from the disc based on group judgment to determine whether the disc in the boat was 100% over OB water (it would be OB then) or part of the disc was over IB (it would be IB then).

I'm just saying TDs "could" call landing on the boat (or dock) inbounds if they wish but before the round starts.

dinoroger
May 26 2009, 11:57 AM
Wouldnt the boat be considered private property and be OB?

bruce_brakel
May 26 2009, 12:09 PM
Wouldnt the boat be considered private property and be OB?
There is no rule that makes private property o.b. Otherwise, what would we do when playing courses on private property? :D