Fossil
May 17 2008, 10:18 PM
At the Lakefront Open today a player missed the mando on hole 2 and skipped his tee shot in the target for an Ace.
The Tee is the drop zone.
How would you rule?
cgkdisc
May 17 2008, 10:19 PM
Player moves to drop zone shooting his third.
Fossil
May 17 2008, 10:20 PM
Not you Chuck!! Give the masses a chance. The post was up less than one minute.
cgkdisc
May 17 2008, 10:24 PM
Sorry, I just logged on and didn't see it was just posted. But it's a simple ruling right in the book. OK, what happens if the group didn't know it was a mando and went on to play another hole before finding out about the mando?
krupicka
May 17 2008, 10:35 PM
Original question: go to drop zone with a +1. No payout for ace.
Chuck's second question. 1+2=3
gnduke
May 18 2008, 12:16 AM
What happens if they don't find out about the mando until they play the hole in the next round ?
Jeff_Peters
May 19 2008, 09:51 AM
easy ruling, no ace, no ace pot, re-tee your 3rd since the tee was also the drop zone, the remainder of flight and the finsh of the disc is of no relavance once the mando is missed.
Jeff_Peters
May 19 2008, 09:59 AM
what happens if the group didn't know it was a mando and went on to play another hole before finding out about the mando?
They "aced" their tee shot (1), missed the mando, automatic stroke penalty (1) (ignorance of the rules is no excuse), plus the penalty for inadvertantly holing out (2)
I'd say its a 4
801.13 A (2)
(2) Inadvertently failing to hole out (as determined by a majority of the group or an official) shall result in 2 penalty throws being added to the number of throws plus penalty throws already taken on the hole . The hole shall then be considered completed.
sillycybe
May 19 2008, 12:44 PM
What happens if they don't find out about the mando until they play the hole in the next round ?
All of the above plus 2 more strokes (each player) for turning in an incorrect scorecard!
MTL21676
May 19 2008, 12:45 PM
There is no such thing as a missed mando ace.
Ace refers to recieving a score of 1 for the hole. If you miss a mando it is impossible to score a 1.
Where the disc lands after it misses the mando does not matter, even if it lands in the target for that hole. If that happens it is nothing more than a cool story to tell.
phluffhead
May 19 2008, 01:05 PM
I would consider it a black ace and expect a fiver from the thrower
stack
May 19 2008, 01:07 PM
I would consider it a black ace and expect a fiver from the thrower
2nd... and i'd make him clear his disc before I threw (ya never know ;)
chainmeister
May 19 2008, 01:54 PM
Odds are the Ace and similar Aces were contemplated by the TD and the mando was to take away the so-called easy route. The hole was supposed to be harder. Its a good story; its a bummer; its a penalty. The tone of the above posts seems appropriate. this is a pretty easy question. In reality-- it was never an ace.
DeanTannock
May 19 2008, 05:56 PM
If they finished the round,wouldn't it be not playing the stipulated course correctly?
cgkdisc
May 19 2008, 06:07 PM
What happens if they don't find out about the mando until they play the hole in the next round ?
Shouldn't be any different from the 2-shot penalty that would occur just after the player makes their next throw 801.04(2). Correcting a hole score after another round starts does not invoke the penalty for incorrect total round score 804.03G(2). If the missed mando is discoverd after the event is declared over, then no penalty or score correction is made 804.03G(1) and the player gets a round rating perhaps 12-26 pts higher :D.
gnduke
May 19 2008, 06:14 PM
Yes, That was the point.
cgkdisc
May 19 2008, 06:19 PM
I know some still think there are compound penalties that award a 2-shot penalty for a misplayed hole and then 2 more for the "misadded" scorecard, but that was corrected in the last rules update.
JohnLambert
May 19 2008, 09:09 PM
Had the exact thing happen at the Evergreen Open this year. Hole 2, my buddy misses a double mando and lands in the chains. At the time we didn't even consider it anything but a missed mando and a fun story to tell. He pulled, re-threw, and took a solid 4.
gnduke
May 19 2008, 10:31 PM
The bad part is that it is a 3 if you don't know you missed the mando until you start the next hole.
If you know about it on the hole, it is not likely to be better than a 4.