mmaclay
Oct 29 2007, 08:40 PM
Had two situations come up this weekend that were somewhat unique to me so I thought I'd ask the Board and see what ya'll thought.

1) Player throws OB. We all agree to the spot he went out. He takes 1m relief and lays his mini down. Upon mapping out his footwork, he finds that there is a small stump right where his plant foot needs to go behind his mini. Asks if he can re-mark his lie closer to the OB where the stump won't affect him. Obviously you don't have to mark a lie 1m from the OB line as long as your stance is legal (no supporting points OB etc). However, once marked, can you change your mark? Could also come into effect is situations near the 10m circle while putting? Should he have been more careful before marking his lie and thus just have to live with a silly mistake?

2) A player obviously does a falling putt from his knees from an awkward position. He misses the putt. He is called for a falling putt. Does he get to putt again? I looked but could not find it explicitly in the rule book. A group member contended that since he missed, he continues to play out without a reputt but the warning counts towards future stance violations.

803.04 G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. Re-throws must be taken from the original lie, prior to subsequent play by others in the group.

Seems to me that if called for a falling putt (ie: stance violation), the player should rethrow, even if he missed, according to the rules. I'm not saying this is reasonable but it's how I interpret the above statement.


Thoughts appreciated.

-MADMAX

gnduke
Oct 29 2007, 09:36 PM
Any lie within 1m of an OB line may be moved up to 1m perpendicular to the OB line. There is no limitation to the number of times the lie may be moved since every time it is moved, it is still within 1m of OB.

The called falling putt does not count and there is no penalty stroke on the first call. It's a free redo. That's one of the reasons that it is so rarely called. Because of the time limit, you can't wait to see if a drive is good or bad before calling the fault. Players seem to not want to call it when it may be a benefit to the offender.

mmaclay
Oct 29 2007, 11:01 PM
RE marking a lie: What if this had happened closer to a basket that happened to be close to OB? The player marks a disc before a putt which makes him be just inside the 10m circle (assuming a line has been drawn). They would rather jump putt so they move their mini outside the line but still inbounds and perpendicular to the point their shot wen OB. According to your post, they could move it AFTER marking it as long as it was within 1m of OB and it wouldn't matter.

This whole situation did not have much bearing on the tournament or the round it came up in but it did cause me pull out the rule book. It just seems to me that if you mark a lie, you should play your shot from there. Try to be careful in marking your lie and some thought into things before placing your mini down. I have marked my lie from OB and wanted to change my lie 1-2 feet upon addressing my shot. The rules don't really say.

-MADMAX

gnduke
Oct 29 2007, 11:22 PM
Read 803.03.A and 803.03.C closely again.

In 803.03.A, A lie may be established.

802.02.C applies to relocating a lie, not establishing a lie.

According to the rule, you must first establish a lie, then relocate it.

Since the rule allows for the relocation of the lie and has no restriction other than proximity to OB, you should be able to relocate the lie as long as it meets that criteria.