Sep 08 2007, 10:18 PM
I have an issue with one of the course rules at my new local course I wanted some different insight on it. I shall do my best to explain the hole without being able to draw a map. Fairly average distance and pretty wide open downhill hole. Two pin placements (not permanent) for every hole. The call on a hole at dubs this past weekend really irked me and ended up being a one-stroke difference between taking cash and not. In the long position, the hole has an island green surrounded by 3 park roads forming a triangle. All road is ob and clearly marked with painted line. Go too deep and fly past the island and over the road is still ob. Land short, not making it to the road, still in. No problems there. Short position only one road really comes into play and it's OB. The short pin is about 15 feet before the road that forms the tee-side of the island. I ended up throwing long and landing on this island throwing to the short position. An OB call was made. This is what I have a problem with. To me it doesn't make sense that an area of land can be deemed in for one placement yet OB for another on the same hole. I now open the floor for debate. Maybe Chuck Kennedy can chime in as well.

krupicka
Sep 08 2007, 11:06 PM
I see no problem with it. OB is whatever the TD wants to declare OB. When the pins are in different placements, consider it a different course. There are also many times where on a given course an area is OB for one hole and not another. Not much different.

From your description, it seems to make sense to make the island OB as typically on/over roads is OB. Think of it more as an exception that in the long placement an area that is normally OB is not.

toohigh
Sep 09 2007, 04:12 AM
Sounds like in the short position, the first park road and beyond is OB.