arlskipshot1
Aug 26 2007, 05:58 PM
I don't know if this has been addressed before, but the one of the guys on my card this morning asked me about a rule and I'm curious how it would play out here.
The last guy on the box goes to make his throw and as he steps into his shot he lands on a small rock that makes his foot roll out from under and he looses his balance starting to fall forward. He consciously holds on to the disc realizing he is not going to make a good throw, and as he stumbles forward, he is going to hit the ground hard. Right before he lands he reaches out with both hands to catch his fall and lets go of the disc inches above the ground. Boom he hits the ground almost twisting his ankle and taking a little skin off of both his palms.
Do you :
(A) Do what I'd do and ask if he's alright and offer him a minute to recover before he makes his tee shot....or
(B) Tell him he's away, throwing his second shot, and he has 30 seconds to do so? :confused: ;)

specialk
Aug 26 2007, 06:56 PM
Foot fault

MCOP
Aug 26 2007, 07:01 PM
Agreed foot fault, then see if he is ok.. if no one seconds it then he is away and must throw from his landing:(

circle_2
Aug 26 2007, 08:26 PM
Technically/sub~zealotly speaking, IFF his foot (a possible supporting point) is in contact with the teepad AND the disc leaves his hand before ANY contact with the ground in front of the teepad is made, then...uh... :confused:

MCOP
Aug 26 2007, 10:32 PM
No, because he has to have a supporting point behind the front of the tee pad when the disc is released. As described above he did not.

circle_2
Aug 26 2007, 11:24 PM
:confused:I'm speechless... :p

arlskipshot1
Aug 26 2007, 11:38 PM
I have no problem at all, after seeing him hold on to the disc to prevent a throw, in allowing him the right to protect himself from harm by catching his fall with his hands. There was no intention to make his shot so in my opinion there is neither a foot fault or a competitive throw. He stopped his throw.
If he had just balked at making his throw and started all over there is no problem so the same must be the rule in this case also. He stopped the throw.

enkster
Aug 27 2007, 01:16 AM
Skip,

What if he obviously balks on his throw, and the disk "accidentally" releases, without considering the balance issue? What is your call in this case and what do you do? This is where we get into slippery slopes.

What I would do, is.... BOTH. It always is good to show compassion for your fellow man, but at the same time the rules apply regardless of accident, intent or whatnot. I have been in this scenario and I took it like an adult would. Was I happy? No, but it was not because noone called a foot fault, but because I was a klutz.

This is not saying that what you would do is necessarily wrong. I would just handle it differently. If there was not consensus among the others in my group, I would present the option of taking a provisional throw and allow the TD to determine the proper set up..

Thank you,

Steve

mmaclay
Aug 27 2007, 01:23 AM
No throw, no foot fault. Tell him to rub some dirt on and make his drive once he's recovered. He has a right to protect himself and dropping a disc to protect oneself while falling is not a throwing motion in my mind. this does not work out if the disc has actually travelled some significant distance or was actually "in flight" instead of dropped.

If you really want/need to get him for it you could call a foot fault and have it 2nded. Then it's a courtesy violation and if he has no other violations, he gets to "rethrow" but without penalty. Add a stroke if he's already been in trouble but then he's throwing his 2nd shot from the tee. If no one seconds the call, there would have to be s serioud disussion if it was actually a a throw with the group coming to consensus. If I was the thrower, I'd play a provisional and take a pic of where my "first drive" ended up with my cell phone as evidence to show the TD later in the round. Then I'd forget it and do my best to kick tail so it didn't make a difference either way.

My $0.02

-MADMAX

discette
Aug 27 2007, 07:38 AM
Do you :
(A) Do what I'd do and ask if he's alright and offer him a minute to recover before he makes his tee shot....or
(B) Tell him he's away, throwing his second shot, and he has 30 seconds to do so?




C) Don't feed the troll.

arlskipshot1
Aug 27 2007, 11:02 AM
Skip,

What if he obviously balks on his throw, and the disk "accidentally" releases, without considering the balance issue? What is your call in this case and what do you do? This is where we get into slippery slopes.

What I would do, is.... BOTH. It always is good to show compassion for your fellow man, but at the same time the rules apply regardless of accident, intent or whatnot. I have been in this scenario and I took it like an adult would. Was I happy? No, but it was not because noone called a foot fault, but because I was a klutz.

This is not saying that what you would do is necessarily wrong. I would just handle it differently. If there was not consensus among the others in my group, I would present the option of taking a provisional throw and allow the TD to determine the proper set up..

Thank you,

Steve


If he balks and releases then it is an entirely different scenario and I would have to call it his throw. In this case, though, he very clearly holds on to the disc to prevent a throw and then drops it as he's falling to protect himself. No throw.
Well said MM and I love to play with girls D. :o/msgboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gif