specialk
Aug 16 2007, 02:24 PM
Let's say Player A packs up and leaves the course after hole #8, but comes to his senses soon after. His group has already teed off on hole #9 and no one has holed out yet.

Can Player A resume play? If so, what are the repercussions (if any)?

exczar
Aug 16 2007, 02:35 PM
Let's say Player A packs up and leaves the course after hole #8, but comes to his senses soon after. His group has already teed off on hole #9 and no one has holed out yet.

Can Player A resume play? If so, what are the repercussions (if any)?



How about posting what you conclude the repercussions (if any) you believe there would be, and then we can "assist" you in fine-tuning your conclusions?

I know it's fun just throwing "what-if"s out there, but it will lend credibility if you let us know what you think.

specialk
Aug 16 2007, 02:38 PM
This is a rules quiz, Bill. It wouldn't make sense to provide the answer in advance.

twoputtok
Aug 16 2007, 03:30 PM
If they have teed off and he wasn't there for his turn in the rotation, then I think he should take a seven on that hole.

Alacrity
Aug 16 2007, 03:32 PM
What the heck, I will jump in......

As a player in the group I would allow him to continue play on hole 10. Hole 9, assuming the TD does not DQ him, should be par +4. By rule the TD gets to determine the punishment with guidelines from the rulebook.

As the TD, I would read 803.13 to the player and explain that loosing your temper is not a good reason for WUWing (Withdrawing and Un-Withdrawing). WUW is of course the sound the player made when they calmed down and figured out what they had done. Then I would DQ the player, but I would tell them that I planned on writing a good excuse for them when I filed the report with the PDGA.

bcary93
Aug 16 2007, 11:21 PM
Player A needs to come to his senses before he does something stupid rather than after. Once that decision is made to quit, appealing to the rules makes the person even more of a loser for being unable to stand by either his decision to play or his decision to quit.


Let's say Player A packs up and leaves the course after hole #8, but comes to his senses soon after. His group has already teed off on hole #9 and no one has holed out yet.

Can Player A resume play? If so, what are the repercussions (if any)?

gnduke
Aug 17 2007, 02:27 AM
Player A needs to come to his senses before he does something stupid rather than after. Once that decision is made to quit, appealing to the rules makes the person even more of a loser for being unable to stand by either his decision to play or his decision to quit.


Let's say Player A packs up and leaves the course after hole #8, but comes to his senses soon after. His group has already teed off on hole #9 and no one has holed out yet.

Can Player A resume play? If so, what are the repercussions (if any)?





Which takes us back to the player that went in search of his wallet after talking to the TD (and hopefully expressing his desire to continue in the tournament after it was found) before he went back in search of it.

august
Aug 17 2007, 08:33 AM
Player A needs to come to his senses before he does something stupid rather than after. Once that decision is made to quit, appealing to the rules makes the person even more of a loser for being unable to stand by either his decision to play or his decision to quit.


Let's say Player A packs up and leaves the course after hole #8, but comes to his senses soon after. His group has already teed off on hole #9 and no one has holed out yet.

Can Player A resume play? If so, what are the repercussions (if any)?





Precisely! Before making a decision, make sure you are okay with the consequences before moving ahead with that decision. Too many people today expect to get away with stupid stuff they do. I always had to pay for my mistakes and if I'm the TD, players are going to have to pay for theirs as well. It's a reality check. Look into it!!!

Alacrity
Aug 17 2007, 09:50 AM
For the most part I believe you to be correct, but the main area of concern, at least for me is 'at the discretion of the director, using the following guidelines'

This term discretion means that the TD can consider reasons for quitting before handing down a penality. As long as the player has a valid reason, such as loss of a wallet, I as the TD may make the decision to allow them to play or to DQ them. If I don't see any competitive advantage gained, such as skipping a hole that a player may have taken a score greater than par +4, why not let them play?

One thing I do want to point out is that the rule is vague on failing to play a hole and I suggested that the TD has some leeway. When a player fails to hole out, we have a different situation. While the TD still has discretion, the rule leans heavily towards DQ.




Precisely! Before making a decision, make sure you are okay with the consequences before moving ahead with that decision. Too many people today expect to get away with stupid stuff they do. I always had to pay for my mistakes and if I'm the TD, players are going to have to pay for theirs as well. It's a reality check. Look into it!!!