Kette_Master
Aug 16 2007, 12:53 AM
Doubles - Best Shot
The rule states: If the first player throws from the wrong lie, the second player may still throw from the correct lie.
Does this give the "ok" (no rules violation) for each member of a doubles team to throw from their own lie?
specialk
Aug 16 2007, 01:32 AM
I don't see why not in Best Shot. However, in Worst Shot, it's a different story.
Kette_Master
Aug 16 2007, 07:00 PM
This is a "Best Shot" scenario. Anyone have an official answer?
Going by the stated rules, I think it would be okay also.
Can the TD say that it is forbidden to play from both lies?
ck34
Aug 16 2007, 07:43 PM
No penalty. But only the second shot counts from the "correct" lie. If the first player plays from the wrong lie, that shot can potentially count as long as the other teammate then plays from it. Not sure what the advantage would be for each player to play from their own lie? If the idea would be to have one player play from their lie first. See how the shot turns out and if it's good then the other player plays from it. If it's not good, then if there's a reason for the second player to play from their lie instead of where their partner threw from, it would be OK except then the second person's throw must count according to the rule and the first throw would be "not from the correct lie" with no penalty.
specialk
Aug 16 2007, 08:14 PM
This is a "Best Shot" scenario. Anyone have an official answer?
Going by the stated rules, I think it would be okay also.
Can the TD say that it is forbidden to play from both lies?
Since any doubles format is separate from the rules of the game, anything the TD says goes.
sandalman
Aug 16 2007, 08:38 PM
"Not sure what the advantage would be for each player to play from their own lie?"
with righty-lefty it happens all the time. same could happen if only one partner in a same-side partnership had a wicked forehand.
ck34
Aug 16 2007, 08:57 PM
But if only one throw counts, it's no advantage.
Kette_Master
Aug 16 2007, 10:23 PM
Maybe it's me... but I think the rule should indicate that:
"If the first player throws from the wrong lie, the second player may still throw from the correct lie. [However, the throw from the wrong lie is voided.]
What if the first player throws from the correct lie, and the second player throws from the wrong lie; Is the first player's shot the only one that is acceptable?
NEngle
Aug 16 2007, 11:10 PM
Yes.
specialk
Aug 16 2007, 11:13 PM
Maybe it's me... but I think the rule should indicate that:
"If the first player throws from the wrong lie, the second player may still throw from the correct lie. [However, the throw from the wrong lie is voided.]
What if the first player throws from the correct lie, and the second player throws from the wrong lie; Is the first player's shot the only one that is acceptable?
But which is the "correct" lie?
LouMoreno
Aug 16 2007, 11:50 PM
What if the first player throws from the correct lie, and the second player throws from the wrong lie; Is the first player's shot the only one that is acceptable?
The second throw could still count if chosen as the best throw but it would be subject to all the appropriate penalties.
Kette_Master
Aug 17 2007, 01:27 AM
But which is the "correct" lie?
Wouldn't that be the lie "chosen" by the team?
"...then the team chooses which of the resulting lies to continue play from..."
Does the team have to announce to the card which lie they chose?