enkster
Jul 11 2007, 05:58 PM
All,
I have had the following scenario play out: <ul type="square"> I am a cerified official I happen to be playing in a mixed group. A warning about practice throws is given to the entire field at the post lunch players meeting A player (not in my division) throws a disk to his back and in the direction of the target. [/list]
1) If I call the practice throw, do I need a second?
2) If it is someone in my division, does that change the answer?
Thank you,
Steve
denny1210
Jul 11 2007, 06:36 PM
No & No:
B. Practice Throws. A player who throws a practice throw or an extra throw with any disc any time after the start of his or her round and prior to his or her finishing the last hole of the round (except for throws that must be re-thrown in accordance with the rules, provisional throws made pursuant to 803.01 C and 803.01 D (3), or throws during a suspension or postponement of play) shall receive one penalty throw. The practice throw or extra throw must be observed by any two players or an official .
accidentalROLLER
Jul 11 2007, 06:39 PM
I would hope that an official could read.....or at least know where to find the rules and have someone read them aloud.
gnduke
Jul 11 2007, 07:19 PM
1) No
2) Yes
809.04 - Officials
D. Non-playing certified officials may actively make rulings during any tournament play that they witness. If an official competes in a tournament, he or she may not officiate for any ruling within his or her own division.
While you are competing, you can act as an official for rulings outside of your division (do not need a second), but within your division, you must act as a player(needs a second).
enkster
Jul 12 2007, 12:37 AM
28003,
Thank you for your thoughtful response. I was simply requesting confirmation of what I thought would be the correct way to interpret the rules.
I do know how to read, and as you can see from the two responses, my inquisitiveness is somewhat well founded.
Thank you,
Steve
accidentalROLLER
Jul 12 2007, 08:48 AM
stenkyDGer,
You're welcome. The responders simply quoted the rules to answer your question. There was no interpretation needed; it's pretty black and white. It's amazing what you can find out if read the rule book.
Regards,
Colin
enkster
Jul 12 2007, 12:23 PM
Colin,
I do see it as black and white as well, but not everyone sees it that way.
I am a new official, and I am just making sure that I would be doing the right thing. I did not have a problem with the way the rule read. It is just that when one is new, sometimes the confidence is not there.
Thank you,
Steve
accidentalROLLER
Jul 12 2007, 12:40 PM
I understand. However...
Be confident in the rules, have no convictions. The rules are all we have. If you ever have a dispute, read the rules to people, ALOUD. So that everyone hears. And do what they say. How could someone dispute it?
Sorry for coming off the way I did, but so many people do not read the rules. 95% of the rule book is crystal clear. With the competition manual and official rules FAQs it is 98% clear.
marshief
Jul 12 2007, 03:44 PM
You will notice that he received two contradictory responses to his second question - whether or not the situation changes if it is someone in his division. Merely being able to read the rules is not sufficient, one must be able to read all of the rules and interpret them appropriately. In answering both of his initial questions, one must consult multiple rules. And I'm guessing the two people who responded are both officials as well.
i understand his point - I'm also a fairly new official and even though I feel I have a good grasp and interpretation of the rules, I've been questioned by others before. I would guess 100% of the officials wished that everyone read the rule book in its entirety before entering a tournament, but that's not going to happen. it's also difficult to know whether the person typing around here is an official or not :)
Jroc
Jul 12 2007, 03:45 PM
1) No
2) Yes
809.04 - Officials
D. Non-playing certified officials may actively make rulings during any tournament play that they witness. If an official competes in a tournament, he or she may not officiate for any ruling within his or her own division.
While you are competing, you can act as an official for rulings outside of your division (do not need a second), but within your division, you must act as a player(needs a second).
Even if you are the TD? (since you get the ultimate say in the decision regardless of what division it is?)
krupicka
Jul 12 2007, 03:53 PM
Playing TD's should really have at least one other official not playing in the TD's division so that there is no conflict of interest. If there isn't, the TD really shouldn't be playing.
Jroc
Jul 12 2007, 04:11 PM
Usually there is at least 1 CO other than the TD playing. In my experience its an out of towner that happens to be at your tourney. But, B Tier and below only require an official...not a non-playing official. So heres the scenario:
TD is playing in his tourney on a card within his division. Call is made but the player disagrees with the ruling. Player appeals to the TD after the round. Even if the TD rules as another competitor during play, he is probably going to rule the way he did during the round. Not sure how its a Conflict of Interest if he has the final say anyway. While I agree that this situation may very well be rare...but, it could happen possibly.
DSproAVIAR
Jul 12 2007, 05:22 PM
Playing TD's should really have at least one other official not playing in the TD's division so that there is no conflict of interest. If there isn't, the TD really shouldn't be playing.
Actually a TD must withdraw himself from play if he needs to make a ruling in his own division.
Playing TD's should really have at least one other official not playing in the TD's division so that there is no conflict of interest. If there isn't, the TD really shouldn't be playing.
Actually a TD must withdraw himself from play if he needs to make a ruling in his own division.
I've never read this rule. What rule is it? We always have a non-playing official but I'm just curious how exactly this rule is written.