doot
Apr 20 2007, 11:27 AM
So we're playing doubles yesterday at a course with a large lake that comes into play on multiple holes.

My drive lands on the edge of the shoreline, and as we approach we see the disc is OB, not OB, OB, not OB, etc. as the waves hit the shoreline it's surrounded by water, but when the wave retreats, it's half on dry land.

What would be the correct ruling?

Could I mark the disc at the moment it's not OB, then take a meter in?

veganray
Apr 20 2007, 11:33 AM
In my book , that's in bounds. Player gets the benefit of the doubt.

my_hero
Apr 20 2007, 11:44 AM
we see the disc is OB




803.03 Marking the Lie


F. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water.

doot
Apr 20 2007, 11:47 AM
The disc is not moving. It's the OB that's continually changing with the waves.

my_hero
Apr 20 2007, 11:58 AM
we see the disc is OB




803.03 Marking the Lie


F. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water.



So the waves didn't move the disc at all? Not even 1 millimeter?

Tough call.

cuttas
Apr 20 2007, 12:23 PM
<font color="red"> big WAVE was in jersey? </font>

rhett
Apr 20 2007, 12:33 PM
So we're playing doubles yesterday at a course with a large lake that comes into play on multiple holes.

My drive lands on the edge of the shoreline, and as we approach we see the disc is OB, not OB, OB, not OB, etc. as the waves hit the shoreline it's surrounded by water, but when the wave retreats, it's half on dry land.

What would be the correct ruling?

Could I mark the disc at the moment it's not OB, then take a meter in?


This is the reason why using "water's edge" as an OB line is the least desirable option out there.

veganray
Apr 20 2007, 12:46 PM
So we're playing doubles yesterday at a course with a large lake that comes into play on multiple holes.

My drive lands on the edge of the shoreline, and as we approach we see the disc is OB, not OB, OB, not OB, etc. as the waves hit the shoreline it's surrounded by water, but when the wave retreats, it's half on dry land.

What would be the correct ruling?

Could I mark the disc at the moment it's not OB, then take a meter in?


This is the reason why using "water's edge" as an OB line is the least desirable option out there.



Unless, like me, you like the old "in-out-in-out". :D

virtualwolf
Apr 22 2007, 05:19 AM
I agree with Vegan Ray. To close to call goes to the player.