TrevorThorp
Apr 11 2007, 08:13 PM
What is the ruling on how many discs you can putt with at the same time. If you have a disc that fits into another can you throw both at the same time as long as they both go in the basket?

ck34
Apr 11 2007, 08:20 PM
One would count as practice throw so at best it would be a 2-putt even if both went in.

cornhuskers9495
Apr 11 2007, 09:49 PM
This thread, amonst many others, proves that people spend too much time on these boards...

Get out and practice...

Apr 11 2007, 11:29 PM
Guilty of the too much time...

Playing two discs at once, one inside the other, would only count as a practice throw if it were longer than 2 meters.

However, it would be guilty of many other infractions. I can think of several.

First of all, the disc is illegal because of the following:
- It is not solid, it is "cracked", and cracked discs are illegal (802.01B)
- It is a "post production modification" as neither disc was sold as a pair, and you can't do that either (802.01C)
- Even if it were otherwise legal, it would not pass the Technical Standards as it would definitely exceed the weight limit, thus failing to meet the standards of a legal disc. (802.01A)
- Anyone questioning if the disc is legal can inform the TD, and he must specifically approve the disc. He cannot do this if it fails to meet any of the above requirements, which it would not, and therefore must find it illegal. (802.01D)

Since the disc is illegal, here are your possible penalties:
- Repeatedly throwing an illegal disc (802.01E) subject to disqualification
- Carrying an illegal disc (802.01E) 2 strokes if observed

I know, too much time, but I couldn't resist. Anyone else see any other reasons why you can't throw more than one disc at a time?

........LarryO

gnduke
Apr 12 2007, 11:29 AM
Playing two discs at once, one inside the other, would only count as a practice throw if it were longer than 2 meters.



Practice Throw: During a round, the projection of a disc of a distance greater than two meters, or of any distance toward a target, intentional or not, which does not change the player�s lie, either because it did not occur from the teeing area or the lie, <font color="blue">or because the player had already thrown competitively from the teeing area or the lie</font>.


Distance has nothing to do with the throw if it is towards a target. The question is can your bag be considered a target ???


Can you really consider the two discs to have been thrown one after the other? If not, the second part of the definition can not be met. Therefore you have to use the largest disc as your next lie based on the broken(separated) disc rule.

xterramatt
Apr 15 2007, 10:07 AM
one is behind the other. As in, the leading edge is behind the leading edge of the other. As golf goes, the leading edge is imprtant, not the center or the rear. As both discs leave your hand, the outer disc is the first disc and the inner disc would be the second disc.

I specified the leading edge because I was sure you would come back with "but the inner disc came out of your hand last, since it was in front when the discs left your hand.

Again, we really must find other things to occupy our thoughts...