BJones
Mar 15 2007, 11:39 PM
Maybe I am just dumb (probably the case), but I didn't really see this in the rule book. I did a search but didn't find the answer.

On one particular hole here, we have an OB fence on the left side and road on the right. Quite often, our lies are within 1 meter of the fence or the road, but in bounds. Are we allowed to take up to a meter relief away from the OB line no closer and perpendicular to the basket even though our disc did not go OB?

A few of us have debated this. Close to OB, you can still take a stance where you are not out of bounds. It may put you standing still, but you are still in bounds. Some say you are not allowed a meter relief because of this.

Who is right?

kyle
Mar 15 2007, 11:45 PM
803.03 Marking the Lie

C. If the thrown disc comes to rest in-bounds but within one meter of an out-of-bounds line, the lie may be relocated to any point on a one-meter line that extends perpendicularly from the nearest point on the out-of-bounds line, and passes through the center of the thrown disc. This holds true even if the direction takes the lie closer to the hole. See the following sections for other considerations in marking a thrown disc:
(1) Relocated for relief - 803.05 C (2)
(2) Interference - 803.07 A, B
(3) Above the playing surface - 803.08 A
(4) Out-of-bounds - 803.09 B
(5) Lost - 803.11 B

ck34
Mar 15 2007, 11:46 PM
It's explicitly stated in 803.03C that you can relocate an inbounds lie up to one meter perpendicularly from OB.

BJones
Mar 16 2007, 01:33 PM
Thanks, I guess I just didn't see that.