Alacrity
Mar 12 2007, 11:59 AM
I know this had been discussed multiple times, but I have been asked by several players: A local TD is stating that if the disc is touching OB it is OB. This is not an attack on any TD, but unless the TD has gotten permission from the competitve director, how can this call be made? The rule still clearly states the disc must be completely surrounded to be OB. What I have been told is that the TD is calling out a specific rule and stating the change is not in the rule book. Someone help me. Once again, I am not attacking anyone, I am just getting questions that I would like to know the answer to. Thanks.
gnduke
Mar 12 2007, 12:12 PM
You're right. Whatcha gonna do about it ?
Sharky
Mar 12 2007, 12:14 PM
That is absurd that cannot be legal can it?
chappyfade
Mar 12 2007, 02:10 PM
Arrgghhhh.....
The line itself is OB. If the disc is merely touching the line tangentially, , and none of the disc is IB, then, yes, the disc is OB.
If any part of the disc is IB, whether it's touching the line or not, the disc is IB.
Sheesh.
Jerry, I KNOW that you know what the rule is, that's not the issue. The next time a TD makes an erroneous rules statement, you need to call him out on it. Publicly! So no one gets confused. If he continues to claim his interpretation is correct, have him point out in the rule book where he gets that interpretation. When he is unable to do that, then you can point out the correct rule.
Chap
rhett
Mar 12 2007, 02:15 PM
You are required to get a waiver from the Competition Director for a change like that, and I doubt he would grant that change to the rules.
gnduke
Mar 12 2007, 02:15 PM
Arrgghhhh.....
The line itself is OB. If the disc is merely touching the line tangentially, , and none of the disc is IB, then, yes, the disc is OB.
If any part of the disc is IB, whether it's touching the line or not, the disc is IB.
Sheesh.
Chap
Therein lies the problem. Stop describing it in this manner.
Never use the phrase "touching the line" when describing the status of a disc. Merely state "If any part of the disc is in bounds, the disc is inbounds. The OB line itself is part of the OB area."
chappyfade
Mar 12 2007, 02:19 PM
Never use the phrase "touching the line" when describing the status of a disc.
Exactly.
Chap
rmandedog
Mar 15 2007, 07:57 PM
The reason this rule was changed (O.B.line is out)is for situations where there is as an example, a fence line running the legnth of the hole. Over the fence is O.B. Berore the rule change you could throw over the fence, and 350' down the fairway, hit the fence on the O.B. side. Since the line wasn't O.B., you took your next shot 1 meter in from where it hit the fence. Now that the fence is O.B., it was never in bounds, your back 300'.