hawkgammon
Mar 01 2007, 03:42 PM
Is the public still behind Nurse Naught despite his recent poor play? How do you see Saturday's battle shaking out?
the_beastmaster
Mar 01 2007, 04:40 PM
I can't view poll results until it's over?!?! C'mon now...
Jeff_Peters
Mar 01 2007, 05:05 PM
Hawk is a mortal lock this weekend, knowing that the Dr. is not "100%" coming off of his Ice Capades adventure last Saturday. The big question is :
Can the sub-900 rated JP21730 keep up his streak of not finishing DFL playing MA1?
hawkgammon
Mar 01 2007, 06:34 PM
I can't view poll results until it's over?!?! C'mon now...
Makes it more exciting. Will the public be correct!?!?! You can cut the tension with a knife.
bschweberger
Mar 01 2007, 10:11 PM
I can't view poll results until it's over?!?! C'mon now...
I know, booooooooooo
Dick
Mar 04 2007, 02:00 PM
who saw that coming? hawk gets tied by a player who is sick enough to have to go to the clinic after returning home for possible pnuemonia...i'm sure he thought that 2 stroke lead was holding up as he fought for the lead in the lead group.
hawkgammon
Mar 04 2007, 05:08 PM
Since you never turned in your scorecard I believe my two stroke lead held up. Especially when you factor in the two penalty strokes you should receive. Who thought you would stoop this low so early? Obviously you're totally desperate. How's the cold?
Jeff_LaG
Mar 04 2007, 10:17 PM
Perhaps some local who is familiar with the TD can point him to 804.03F.
All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 25 minutes after the completion of a round. Failure to do so shall result in the assessment of two penalty throws, without a warning, to each player listed on the late scorecard.
With the penalty strokes assessed, it looks like my vote in the poll was 100% accurate: Improved play by Dr. Evil, but still a loss.
Dick
Mar 05 2007, 12:06 AM
actually, pull out your rulebook. turning in a card LATE is a 2 stroke penalty. but that isn't what happened. i didn;t turn the card in at all, which is not covered in the rules, but likely should be a dnf, but i assume a td has discretion under the fair play rule which covers things which aren't covered in the rules.
803.01
F. Rule of Fairness. If any point in dispute is not covered by the rules, the decision shall be made in accordance with fairness. Often a logical extension of the closest existing rule or the principles embodied in these rules will provide guidance for determining fairness..
hawkgammon
Mar 05 2007, 12:16 AM
That's totally weak. Anything after the 25 minutes is a two stroke penalty. 26 minutes, a day, never equals the same thing. The unofficial results posted here (http://www.pdga.com/tournament/tournament_results.php?TournID=6581) show the scores you "phoned" into Mr. Cannon around 2230 last night. Therefore he apparently accepted your "scorecard" more than 25 minutes after the event so you and your cardmates should be given the two stroke penalty. It will be interesting to hear from Mr. Biscoe or Mr. Cannon about this.
bschweberger
Mar 05 2007, 09:05 AM
Sounds like somebody got some TD lovin
johnbiscoe
Mar 05 2007, 11:08 AM
situation is currently under review.
patpitts
Mar 05 2007, 05:09 PM
does everyone on the card get penalized?
Jeff_LaG
Mar 05 2007, 05:15 PM
does everyone on the card get penalized?
All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 25 minutes after the completion of a round. Failure to do so shall result in the assessment of two penalty throws, without a warning, to each player listed on the late scorecard.
johnbiscoe
Mar 06 2007, 02:35 PM
does everyone on the card get penalized?
All players are responsible for returning their scorecards within 25 minutes after the completion of a round. Failure to do so shall result in the assessment of two penalty throws, without a warning, to each player listed on the late scorecard.
i am well aware of the rule. as it was presented to me originally (in admittedly limited fashion) i deemed there to be mitigating circumstances sufficient to override the rule in the interest of fairness, however those mitigating circumstances were not actually as they were originally presented to me. all players on the card will be assessed the penalty when the official results are turned in. not sure if bob will get the unofficial ones online corrected or not.
Jeff_LaG
Mar 06 2007, 03:11 PM
i am well aware of the rule. as it was presented to me originally (in admittedly limited fashion) i deemed there to be mitigating circumstances sufficient to override the rule in the interest of fairness, however those mitigating circumstances were not actually as they were originally presented to me. all players on the card will be assessed the penalty when the official results are turned in. not sure if bob will get the unofficial ones online corrected or not.
Hey John,
My response was to Pat Pitts, as well as the TD listed for the Am portion of Loriella Challenge. (whom I am not familiar with) As you are a long time TD and Certified Official for 10 years now, I am sure you were well aware of the rule.
johnbiscoe
Mar 06 2007, 05:13 PM
no worries jeff. the td for the event was a first-timer (and did an absolutely fantastic job) so he called upon my "expertise" to help resolve the matter. he was actually aware of the rule as well but the info was presented to him in somewhat limited fashion as well at first.
Dick
Mar 06 2007, 08:43 PM
i thought Bob did a great job also. after thinking about it on my deathbed in the hospital, it seems even though i didn't turn the card in(yet), i obviously have to eat the 2 strokes first. and i'm obviously not dnf'ing completed my last hole. still the fact remains that hawk eeked a win out on an opponent who was sick enough to have to end up in the hospital!
mostly i feel bad about hurting my cardmates. the rule as written seems kind of unfair as they had no control over the situation. maybe it should be looked into.
hawkgammon
Mar 06 2007, 11:13 PM
i thought Bob did a great job also. after thinking about it on my deathbed in the hospital, it seems even though i didn't turn the card in(yet), i obviously have to eat the 2 strokes first. and i'm obviously not dnf'ing completed my last hole. still the fact remains that hawk eeked a win out on an opponent who was sick enough to have to end up in the hospital!
mostly i feel bad about hurting my cardmates. the rule as written seems kind of unfair as they had no control over the situation. maybe it should be looked into.
Dead man posting.