wsfaplau
Oct 15 2006, 08:09 PM
In a PDGA tournament group A misplays the course by skipping a hole. At the end of their round they realize their mistake and play the hole they left out. They turn in their socrecards with the correct score for each hole but without adding any penalty.

What is their penalty?

Is it 2 strokes for misplaying the course or is it 4 strokes, 2 for the misplay and 2 for turning in an incorrect score?

Alacrity
Oct 15 2006, 08:23 PM
Let us assume that they did not know the rules, then I would say that your suggestion of 4 strokes, while harsh, is probably the best applicaiton. By the way, it is the responsiblity of the players to know the rule.

Let us assume they DID know the the rules, 4 strokes would be the minimum penalty with a possible DQ if it can proved that they willfully cheated.


In a PDGA tournament group A misplays the course by skipping a hole. At the end of their round they realize their mistake and play the hole they left out. They turn in their socrecards with the correct score for each hole but without adding any penalty.

What is their penalty?

Is it 2 strokes for misplaying the course or is it 4 strokes, 2 for the misplay and 2 for turning in an incorrect score?

krupicka
Oct 16 2006, 07:33 AM
These penalty throws are not added when the TD (or an official designated by the TD, such as a course director) corrects a player�s score for other infractions determined after this player had turned in an otherwise correct scorecard.



They should only have a +2 for misplay.

wsfaplau
Oct 16 2006, 12:05 PM
Good call krupickka.

(2) If it is determined that the total score was incorrectly recorded, either by an error on a hole score or by an error in totaling the These penalty throws are not added when the TD (or an official designated by the TD, such as a course director) corrects a player�s score for other infractions determined after this player had turned in an otherwise correct scorecard. hole scores, including omission of the total score, the director shall add two penalty throws to the correct total score.

JHouston
Nov 12 2006, 07:11 PM
What actually is the rule on a jump putt as far as when you have to let go of the disc? do you have to let go before your feet leave the ground or before they touch again

krupicka
Nov 12 2006, 09:07 PM
You must release the disc before your feet leave the ground. That is why some want to call it a putt-jump rather than a jump-putt.

803.04 A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc

rolo14
Nov 13 2006, 12:29 PM
jump-putt | disc golf || traveling | basketball

accidentalROLLER
Nov 13 2006, 02:37 PM
jump-putt | disc golf || traveling | basketball


Does that mean pros won't get called on it at the professional level like in the NBA?

dscmn
Feb 15 2007, 10:34 PM
instead of a new thread...

anyone else read the out-of-bounds rule 803.09 as stating that my not moving, ob disc in water is not ob because it isn't moving? rule's below.

A. A disc shall be considered out-of-bounds only when it comes to rest and it is clearly and completely surrounded by the out-of-bounds area. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water. See section 803.03 F. The out-of-bounds line itself is considered out-of-bounds. In order to consider the disc as out-of-bounds, there must be reasonable evidence that the disc came to rest within the out-of-bounds area. In the absence of such evidence, the disc will be considered lost and the player will proceed according to rule 803.11B.

PirateDiscGolf
Feb 15 2007, 10:40 PM
A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water.



As I read it, if your disc is floating (but not moving) it is still considered at rest, and since it is surrounded by OB, it is OB. If the disc is not floating then it is obviously OB. Underwater it is surely only moving by the action of the water... unless you have trained otters moving the disc around. In that case, spend less time training otters and more time practicing.

dscmn
Feb 15 2007, 10:57 PM
it's not floating, and it's not being moved by the water or wind, obviously ob...well, yes. but not according to the poorly worded rule. it's just sitting on the bottom. the rule goes out of it's way to define "at rest" for discs in water (floating or moving by wind or water), it doesn't include not moving in its clarifying statement.

it doesn't include otters either, a glaring omission in need of rectification. however, what if the otters are untrained and are moving the discs merely to tickle their own fancies?

bruce_brakel
Feb 15 2007, 11:22 PM
Good answer. Very good answer. :D:D:D

bruce_brakel
Feb 15 2007, 11:29 PM
The player's confusion on the disc in the water question probably arises from not understanding the word "deemed." "A is deemed B" means "A is not literally B but for this purpose were going to treat it as if it were." A disc floating in the pond slowing being driven to the shore is deemed at rest and therefore it is out of bounds at that point. It is not literally at rest but it is treated as if it were. So you cannot wait for it to make its way over and then when it beaches play it from there as in bounds. It is deemed at rest and therefore has come to rest out of bounds.

A disc that is actually at rest in the water is out of bounds under the general rule and the "deemed" part is a special situation modifying the general rule.

dscmn
Feb 17 2007, 02:50 PM
i think it's funny that one can be so condescending and be missing the point entirely at the same time. yplm. i would suggest that the rule be re-written to read:

A disc thrown in water that is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water shall be deemed (bruce, you want to check the usage here?) "at rest."

this more clearly indicates the intention of the rule.

gnduke
Feb 18 2007, 12:23 PM
He has a point, the rules never clearly define waht "at rest" is and if you refer to 803.03.F, the water definition is not listed as a clarification, but as a separate condition unto itself.

ck34
Feb 18 2007, 12:40 PM
The RC has avoided defining "at rest" because you also have the issue of how long do you have to wait to determine whether a disc is at rest when it appears to be secure while swinging in the chains when it's windy, or how long if it's wedged in the side of the basket and the player is hurrying to snag it so it counts before it pops out?

gnduke
Feb 18 2007, 12:58 PM
How about an addition to the "In water" clause of 803.03 that includes at rest on the bottom ?

DreaminTree
Feb 18 2007, 01:28 PM
To me, if the disc is stuck at the bottom then it is "at rest" in an OB area that happens to be water. If it isnt sitting completely still, then you need to look at the other conditions for being deemed "at rest" when it is in water. I dont understand why this is an issue, no reasonable person would mis-interperet this. Nobody is ever going to claim their disc is playable because it isnt floating.

ck34
Feb 18 2007, 01:37 PM
A disk is technically "at rest" according to the rules when it's moving back and forth in the waves on a beach. Where's the OB line? What position is the disc actually "at rest" to determine an OB call?

gnduke
Feb 18 2007, 06:35 PM
To me, if the disc is stuck at the bottom then it is "at rest" in an OB area that happens to be water. If it isnt sitting completely still, then you need to look at the other conditions for being deemed "at rest" when it is in water. I dont understand why this is an issue, no reasonable person would mis-interperet this. Nobody is ever going to claim their disc is playable because it isnt floating.



I agree, but there should not be an area where common sense is required when clear wording would clear it up.

Just because we can not identify how long a disc must remain at rest before it is considered at rest is no reason we can't identify where it can be at rest. In the case of 803.09, the in water sendtence immediately follows the disc at rest clause, and it is logically an extension of that rule that shows examples where the disc is still moving, but considered at rest.

The problem is in 803.03.F where the in water sentence is a standalone statement presumably covering all discs in water based on the beginning of the sentence. The sentence does cover most common state of a disc at rest on the bottom of the body of water.

I know that it seems needless to specify this, but is more needless to continue without covering it once it has been noticed.

JRauch
Feb 18 2007, 06:55 PM
Ok at a tournament I played at last year the only ob was the water itself, a shallow stream ran through the course. So during the round someone threw the shot into the water but it landed on some rocks coming out of the water. These were not big rocks but there were a few of them and he could get a footing behind his lie even though he was in the middle of the stream standing on the rocks. We let him playing since the TD stated only the water was ob. Is this how we should have played it? Oh and over half of the disc was in the water but it was caught on a rock not moving when we got to it.

ck34
Feb 18 2007, 07:04 PM
Poor instructions from TD. Typically, everything inside a water boundary is also OB, especially rocks. The only reason you might have IB inside OB would be a large area like an island green that's big enough to walk around. However, since the TD said only the water is OB, you have to follow that given no other instructions. I'm not sure how you get your relief of up to 1m from OB depending on rock locations so your stance can always be IB.