grchief
Oct 03 2006, 11:49 AM
I was wondering, when a player throws OB on their tee shot, does the player shoot their next shot immediately or should they wait till all other players have teed off to throw their next shot?
ck34
Oct 03 2006, 12:04 PM
You play after others have teed off. Unless a retee for OB is required and everyone is sure your shot went OB, the only reason to make a throw again from the tee would be to call it a provisional throw. Even then, your option to throw from where the shot went OB is then taken away. It would usually make sense not to rethrow from the tee until the location of your original shot is confirmed. If you could throw from farther down the fairway where the disc went OB, it would usually not make sense to retee unless the footing or shot angle from there would be poor.
gnduke
Oct 03 2006, 12:09 PM
All players should tee off first, then the results from the tee shots should be dealt with. If the result of the tee shot leaves you away (back on the tee box), then you can play your next shot.
801.02 Order Of Play
C. After all the players in the group have teed off, the player farthest from the hole (the away player) throws first. To facilitate flow of play, a player who is not farthest away may play next if the away player consents.
grchief
Oct 03 2006, 04:47 PM
I somewhat get the explanations but I don't know if they apply to the situation I was involved in. So here's the scenerio...... all OB, throw from previous lie. On the tee, the first player throws to the middle of fairway. Second player throws OB...second player waits the others to throw tee shot??? or should he throw right away??? I'm not sure if I explained it correctly originally. Just want to get it right.
grchief
Oct 03 2006, 04:51 PM
From Chucks response I read that the player throws right away as this would be considered a retee? Boy I feel :confused:
gnduke
Oct 03 2006, 04:59 PM
I read Chuck response as:
You play after others have teed off. (answer to question)
Unless a retee for OB is required and (start of reasons not to retee)
I'm not Chuck, so that may be an incorrect interpretation.
ck34
Oct 03 2006, 05:57 PM
You don't throw again right away until everyone has teed off. If you're the last to tee and no one else in the group went OB, then you make the next throw from the tee which results in back-to-back throws.
The situation that to me is unclear is when someone has a tee shot that ends up behind the tee. Do they go and play before everyone in the group who hasn't teed tees off?
jconnell
Oct 03 2006, 06:07 PM
The situation that to me is unclear is when someone has a tee shot that ends up behind the tee. Do they go and play before everyone in the group who hasn't teed tees off?
What's unclear?
801.02 Order Of Play
C. After all the players in the group have teed off, the player farthest from the hole (the away player) throws first. To facilitate flow of play, a player who is not farthest away may play next if the away player consents.
Seems pretty clear-cut to me.
ck34
Oct 03 2006, 06:10 PM
Missed that 'after'. Thanks.
quickdisc
Oct 03 2006, 08:24 PM
Just seen that....................
801.02 Order Of Play
C. After all the players in the group have teed off, the player farthest from the hole (the away player) throws first. To facilitate flow of play, a player who is not farthest away may play next if the away player consents.
paerley
Oct 04 2006, 12:35 AM
I had a shot at flip city (farm classic 06) in my second round that hit a tree right off of the tee on hole 5 and rolled back about 80 feet behind the tee. It took me 2 shots to get back to the tee area, and I managed to save a 5 on the hole. This very problem came up(as I was away), and we came to the exact same conclusion after reading the rule book (that AFTER everyone tees, I had to play). I did, however walk back to my disc, because players were walking towards the tee and I didn't want them moving the disc. I thought about 'unplayable lie' but I just didn't see it being the right choice.
bigchiz
Oct 06 2006, 05:20 PM
...the only reason to make a throw again from the tee would be to call it a provisional throw...
Unless you want to envoke 803.09 B (1).
A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie ...
Which in this case is the tee, right?
morgan
Oct 17 2006, 06:12 AM
I never saw this happen before. Usually people just retee when it's still their turn and don't wait for the others to tee off. I guess everybody has been doing it wrong.
Alacrity
Oct 17 2006, 08:55 AM
Yes you can ree-tee, as a matter of fact I have done that before and almost got a circle 3 out of it.
...the only reason to make a throw again from the tee would be to call it a provisional throw...
Unless you want to envoke 803.09 B (1).
A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie ...
Which in this case is the tee, right?
ck34
Oct 17 2006, 10:48 PM
Unless you want to envoke 803.09 B (1).
A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie ...
Which in this case is the tee, right?
You missed the context of my comment. If you don't know for sure that your shot went OB, or where you might get to play from if you choose to play from the last point IB, the "only" reason to throw from the tee would be to call the shot a provisional in the event the disc was actually OB. You can certainly choose to throw again from the original lie but I believe most players would want to confirm their disc was actually OB before rethrowing and that that was their best option.
atxdiscgolfer
Oct 18 2006, 02:44 AM
I was playing a tournament last weekend and someone on my cards tee shot went OB into a huge lake (everyone saw the shot clearly) I thought that if you clearly see the disc go in the water and everyone else does as well then you take your lie from where it last crossed out of bounds with a 1 stroke penalty shooting for 3. -everyone on the card said that the new rule makes it a lost disc and player needed to re tee. :confused:
ck34
Oct 18 2006, 09:13 AM
And you pulled out your rulebook provided by the PDGA to every member to point out that the disc is OB and not lost if there's evidence it went OB?
atxdiscgolfer
Oct 18 2006, 05:22 PM
rulebook was rained on, have to get a new one now
gnduke
Oct 18 2006, 05:51 PM
When you get a new one, try this (http://www.krylon.com/main/product_template.cfm?levelid=5&sub_levelid=8&productid=1818&content=product_details)
rhett
Oct 18 2006, 06:36 PM
Standard ziploc holds a rulebook perfectly. It has room for your PDGA card, Officials card, a few bandaids, and some alcohol prep pads in case you run in to poison oak/ivy. :)
gnduke
Oct 18 2006, 06:42 PM
But a weather resistant rule book is a useful thing on a rainy day.
rhett
Oct 18 2006, 07:06 PM
But a weather resistant rule book is a useful thing on a rainy day.
True dat. But you can also just stand under your umbrella when you de-bag the rule book.
Oh, wait. Had you been carrying an umbrella, it wouldn't have rained. Nevermind. :)