specialk
Aug 09 2006, 02:21 PM
Player A throws his tee shot which goes *deep* in the schule. Player decides, in the interest of speed of play, to waive the 3-minute search for the disc and immediately declare the disc lost. Can he do this?

Explain your reasoning and cite the appropriate rule to receive full credit.

chappyfade
Aug 09 2006, 02:30 PM
No, he can't call it lost (803.11 says the disc isn't lost until the 3 minutes are up), but he MAY declare it unplayable, and proceed under that scenario. 803.06A. It amounts to the same thing, he can rethrow from the tee (with a 1-throw penalty of course).

Chap

accidentalROLLER
Aug 09 2006, 02:32 PM
According to 803.11A, this disc is not considered lost until the expiration of 3 minutes. However, Player A (i guess not wanting his disc anymore) could start the 3 minutes as soon as he wants (if another player seconds it), then retee and let the rest of the group finish teeing and walk down the fairway and by that time, 3 minutes would probably be expired.

august
Aug 09 2006, 03:37 PM
No, he can't call it lost (803.11 says the disc isn't lost until the 3 minutes are up), but he MAY declare it unplayable, and proceed under that scenario. 803.06A. It amounts to the same thing, he can rethrow from the tee (with a 1-throw penalty of course).

Chap



If he does declare it unplayable from the tee, and then throws again from the previous lie (tee) as is allowed, then that second shot is his new lie. The second shot is not a provisional because there is no such option under the unplayable lie rule. Upon declaring the original throw unplayable and taking the second throw, the original throw is abandoned and no longer an option.