bmoore
Aug 03 2006, 02:48 PM
1- does your mini have to make contact with your disc..... rule says yes in a straight line with the basket. However, I've watched pro players thow a mini to the ground near their disc and never has there been a call.........does it come to a group call, a warning or strokes if a player is marking their lie incorrectly?

2- Relief from OB line makes sense when your against a fence and need room for footing....what if there is a tree in your line and your within one meter of the OB line and it benefits the player to move the lie closer to the OB line and away from that pesky tree.... can a player move closer to OB line just the same way they can move away from the OB line?

thanks!

circle_2
Aug 03 2006, 03:00 PM
2- relief is 'up to' one meter and/but the players supporting points cannot be touching OB when the disc is released.

MTL21676
Aug 03 2006, 03:08 PM
2- relief is 'up to' one meter and/but the players supporting points cannot be touching OB when the disc is released.



exactly.

Sometimes it is the throwers advantage to not take a full meter. As long as you aren't ob on your release, you can put it anywhere in that meter range. Also, many people don't realize you can rup up starting OB or through OB or whatever you choose as long as there are no supporting points OB upon release.

gnduke
Aug 03 2006, 04:10 PM
1. it's a marking penalty and should be called, but I don't think it will ever be called by other players on the card. It will require a non-playing official or TD to take an interest and make the call.

jparmley
Aug 03 2006, 04:31 PM
Question relating to example 2..

A disc comes to rest inbounds within two feet of an OB line. The player claims he/she cannot putt from this lie because one of their supporting points would be OB. It is clear to the card that this player could stradle putt with no supporting point OB, yet the player's putting style is more traditional (a stradle putt would be "uncomfortable"). Could this player take their one meter in?

circle_2
Aug 03 2006, 04:34 PM
A player has the option of taking 'up to' one meter of relief from OB (w/o penalty)...whether they went OB or not.

ck34
Aug 03 2006, 04:45 PM
What I find interesting now that the OB line is OB is that leaning on or touching the OB fence is not allowed. I'm pretty sure there are situations where even with a meter relief, it might be tough to play without having your feet or butt touching the fence.

anita
Aug 03 2006, 05:32 PM
What I find interesting now that the OB line is OB is that leaning on or touching the OB fence is not allowed. I'm pretty sure there are situations where even with a meter relief, it might be tough to play without having your feet or butt touching the fence.



Well, maybe your butt, Chuck! Couldn't resist... sorry...

The rules say that you get up to a meter and you have to take a stance so you aren't OB when making the shot. Sounds like someone has to learn how to straddle putt during the tournamnet... bummer...

ck34
Aug 03 2006, 05:50 PM
Fortunately, I straddle putt mostly... /msgboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gif

august
Aug 03 2006, 06:40 PM
1. it's a marking penalty and should be called, but I don't think it will ever be called by other players on the card. It will require a non-playing official or TD to take an interest and make the call.



I find that sometimes if a thrown disc is tilted slightly upwards in the grass, it can be difficult to get the mini to remain touching it after you lay it down, but it still marks the lie just as accurately if not legally.

Unless it's a blantant attempt to improve a lie, this infraction is seldom called.

rhett
Aug 03 2006, 06:55 PM
2- Relief from OB line makes sense when your against a fence and need room for footing....what if there is a tree in your line and your within one meter of the OB line and it benefits the player to move the lie closer to the OB line and away from that pesky tree.... can a player move closer to OB line just the same way they can move away from the OB line?


I believe this is techically legal, but the times I've considered doing it, it just felt schmucky and I didn't.

It comes up if you have OB between you and the hole and you are short of the OB but within a meter. Technically, since you are within 1 meter of OB you get relief of "up to" 1 meter from OB even if it takes you closer to the hole. That means you can take relief and relocate your lie right next to the edge of OB, closer to the hole.

You can do it, but it doesn't feel right to move your lie closer to the hole that way. Interestingly, it feels perfectly fine to take the whole meter if you are on the other side of the OB such that it is behind you when you face the basket.

paul
Aug 03 2006, 09:54 PM
I disagree with the thought that there's something wrong with moving the lie closer to ob to improve your lie. You get relief of up to a meter and it's within the rules to move it. I play a course with ob fences and creeks that line the side of a couple fairways with trees within one meter of the fence/creek and I am constantly explaining the rule to players so that they can take advantage of a better lie closer to the OB. To me it doesn't seem schmucky -- it seems ignorant of the rules not to take the relief. It can make a huge difference on the ability to make a good throw from a tough spot.

bmoore
Aug 04 2006, 03:28 PM
Q1- example: I use a metal mini and when marking my floating disc in casual water my mini is three or more inches away directly below the front edge of my floating disc. (or) the front edge of your disc is leaning up off the ground, isnt it the same principal as if you're in a tree one foot off the ground.

Q2- example: we concluded it's a players advantage to move an inbounds throw within one meter closer to the OB in order to provide a more clear throw thus breaking the rule.

Paul makes a good point however......Lakeview Park in Sarasota is surrounded on three sides by a chain link fence and you will easily stay inbounds while being within one meter. What's the official call ....... when within one meter can you move your lie both closer or further from the OB line?

Plankeye
Aug 04 2006, 03:37 PM
B. A player is only required to mark the lie with a mini marker disc when repositioning the lie under the rules. This includes the following rules: out-of-bounds, disc above the playing surface, lost disc, unplayable lie, relocated for relief, interference, or repositioning the lie within one meter of the out-of-bounds line.

The part of the rule implies that any disc within 1 meter of the OB line can be moved...but you have to use a mini to mark it

quickdisc
Aug 05 2006, 05:02 PM
Exactly !!!