ck34
Aug 02 2006, 01:18 PM
Here's an incident from Am Worlds to consider. I'll give you the Competition Director's ruling after you have a chance to comment.
Juniors turned in a scorecard with scores for 19 holes. The "19th" hole was scored in the Back 9 column. The total score for one of the four players was correct if only the first 18 holes were counted. The other three were incorrect on that basis because they all had birdie 2s on the extra hole and determined their total score by counting overs and unders looking across the card (like most of us do) and not actually adding up the numbers.
It was determined that the player handling the scorecard on the section including holes 18 & 1 accidentally entered hole 1 scores in the Back 9 column and forgot to cross them out after realizing the mistake and placing the correct scores in the Hole 1 column.
What should their scores be?
crotts
Aug 02 2006, 01:25 PM
the score was wrong. they should get actual score holes 1-18 plus 2. they all added 2 strokes so there score would be what was listed.(for penalty not for birdies on 19th hole)
: ) :
august
Aug 02 2006, 01:39 PM
This might be a case where under 804.03(G)(2) the person with the correct 18-hole score could avoid the 2 penalty strokes under the provision where the 2 strokes are not added if the TD corrects the score for other infractions after an otherwise correct scorecard is turned in. I think recording 19 holes of play falls under "other infractions".
On the other hand, for the players whose score was incorrect even without the 19th hole, I think correct-plus-two is the proper call.
seewhere
Aug 02 2006, 01:53 PM
which JRS group under 13? if so we should consider ensuring an official or knowledgable DG'er walks with them next year.
gnduke
Aug 02 2006, 01:55 PM
the score was wrong. they should get actual score holes 1-18 plus 2. they all added 2 strokes so there score would be what was listed.(for penalty not for birdies on 19th hole)
: ) :
If I read that properly, the only score that was correct for 1-18 was the player that took a 3 on hole 1.
What the scorer needs is 18 scores hopefully in the columns labled 1-18. If there are only 18 scores and a total, it works out even if the columns are off a little. If there are more than 18 scores, and the totals from columns 1-18 add up correctly, I'd go along with no penalty since the proper use of the front and back columns isn't really defined.
By that logic, all of the players that counted the 2 twice (hole 1 and back 9) would be penalized and the player that actually messed up the card would not be penalized.
wyattcoggin
Aug 02 2006, 01:57 PM
I second that, we had a math error for the 10 and under card that add two stokes to my son Andrew.
ck34
Aug 02 2006, 02:09 PM
Back from lunch. The ruling was that the three who had the wrong 18-hole score would get their correct score plus 2 and the lucky player who took the 3 on hole 1 and had the correct score would not get penalized. The logic was that the the Back 9 column is not a correct column for placing individual hole scores so they can be overlooked.
I disagree with this slight of hand and feel all four players should have ended up with the penalty. It would certainly be ironic if the player who made the scoring error happened to be the one who didn't get penalized. By following this logic, players handing in a scorecard where 18 scores are recorded and the Front 9 thru hole 17 columns are used for holes 10-18 (you know it happens) should also get scoring penalties since the Front 9 column "isn't a hole scoring column."
krazyeye
Aug 02 2006, 02:10 PM
Third.
bapster
Aug 02 2006, 02:19 PM
I second that third
august
Aug 02 2006, 02:32 PM
I tend to agree with you Chuck. Wrong is wrong, but the rules provide for this loophole.
Alacrity
Aug 03 2006, 03:14 PM
I am not sure how I feel about this one, but I do know that each individual player is responsible for their own scores (804.3E) and the group as a whole is responsible ONLY if there is a disagreement on the scores (804.3B). Since the group did not take issue to the card, as per 803.1D, then unfortunately the only person that should not have been penalized, just happens to be the player that got a par on the hole. As stated, it would truely be ironic if the player that miss placed the scores and then moved them without removing the other scores was the only one that did not get penalized.
Back from lunch. The ruling was that the three who had the wrong 18-hole score would get their correct score plus 2 and the lucky player who took the 3 on hole 1 and had the correct score would not get penalized. The logic was that the the Back 9 column is not a correct column for placing individual hole scores so they can be overlooked.
I disagree with this slight of hand and feel all four players should have ended up with the penalty. It would certainly be ironic if the player who made the scoring error happened to be the one who didn't get penalized. By following this logic, players handing in a scorecard where 18 scores are recorded and the Front 9 thru hole 17 columns are used for holes 10-18 (you know it happens) should also get scoring penalties since the Front 9 column "isn't a hole scoring column."
Ruder
Aug 04 2006, 12:20 AM
It is every player's own responsibility to ensure their score is correct upon turning it into a scorekeeper. It's sad that it happened but the correct action was taken. One guy just got lucky.