superq16504
Jul 21 2006, 10:18 AM
I appoligize if this has already been discussed.
We are setting up a temp course for an upcoming event. one of the holes will be about 360 feet with an ob road right and an ob split rail fence left. At the tee the fairway is 8-10 feet wide and it opens up all the way to the pin where the fairway is closer to 30 feet wide. the fence takes a 90degree turn about 30 past the basket. My question is about where to place a drop zone. I think for the more skilled golfers hitting the fairway is going to be a little tricky, for the newer players this hole is going to be brutal. I was thinking about setting up the drop zone about 175 from the hole right in the middle of the fairway but this will allow the open field to bomb at the hole with a big hyzer over the road and if they go ob left they will have an easy circle 3 from the fence side and if they dont get in over the road it will be an easy circle 4 from the drop zone.
Do the rules allow the TD to specify that an OB shot must be taken from the drop zone? Or would the player still have all three options (stroke and distance)(line from last in)(drop zone)
the_beastmaster
Jul 21 2006, 11:24 AM
The TD can specify how they want the hole to be played.
Without specifying anything, the TD allows the player all the choices available (where it went out, retee, etc.)
If you want to, you can make them play from the dropzone, no matter where or what number shot they go OB on.
I've seen TDs specify that if you don't make the landing zone on your drive, you have to retee.
Many options available, all up to the TD.
august
Jul 21 2006, 11:27 AM
The TD can indeed mandate drop zone use. Check out 804.01 in the rule book. It outlines how a drop zone may be used under special conditions declared by the TD.
superq16504
Jul 21 2006, 11:39 AM
thanks I looked at the 804.1 after I posted and decided I could do it.
You guys rock.
AlmaWillie
Jul 21 2006, 11:20 PM
This looked like a god post for my question so here goes.....
During a recent tourney I teed off on a hole and the disc landed in-bounds under the basket but flipped up and rolled 50' off a cliff OB. I was told that I had to retee and take a stroke penalty (teeing off for a 3) since I went OB off the tee. Since I was not confident on the ruling and the group seemed to agree, I did so and took a 5 on the hole. Later I was told that I did not have to retee but instead should have taken it from the spot it went OB (where I could have possibly saved par).
Could someone tell me what is correct in this instance?
AviarX
Jul 21 2006, 11:37 PM
If i had been you, i would have cited Rule 803.09 -- and opted for Section B, option (2) [see below] --
803.09 Out-of-Bounds
A. A disc shall be considered out-of-bounds only when it comes to rest and it is clearly and completely surrounded by the out-of-bounds area. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water. See section 803.03 F. The out-of-bounds line itself is considered out-of-bounds. In order to consider the disc as out-of-bounds, there must be reasonable evidence that the disc came to rest within the out-of-bounds area. In the absence of such evidence, the disc will be considered lost and the player will proceed according to rule 803.11B.
B. A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from:
(1) The previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved from an approximate lie, as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official; or
(2) A lie that is up to one meter away from and perpendicular to the point where the disc last crossed into out-of-bounds, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. This holds true even if the direction takes the lie closer to the hole; or
(3) Within the designated Drop Zone, if provided. These options may be limited by the tournament director as a special condition (see 804.01).
C. The Rule of Verticality. The out-of-bounds line represents a vertical plane. Where a player�s lie is marked from a particular point within one meter of the out-of-bounds line pursuant to the rules, the one-meter relief may be taken from the particular point upward or downward along the vertical plane.
D. If the in-bounds status of a disc is uncertain, either a majority of the group or an official shall make the determination. If the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc shall be considered out-of-bounds, and he or she shall proceed in accordance with 803.09 B counting all throws made prior to the determination of the in-bounds status of the original lie. If a player other than the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc shall be considered in-bounds, and play for the thrower and the mover of the disc shall proceed under the rules of interference, 803.07 B and C.
see: PDGA Rules online here (http://www.pdga.com/rules/index.php)
mcthumber
Jul 22 2006, 10:30 AM
It appears that not knowing the rules cost you at least 1 stroke, maybe 2.
It's such a small rulebook...people really should try giving it a read. It baffles me that anyone would pay money to enter a tournament and not know the rules that can effect the outcome.
AlmaWillie
Jul 22 2006, 10:38 PM
Thank you for the input, as this was what I was thinking. I had read the rulebook that came with my membership pack, but I was told by a memeber of my group that this was one of the "new" rules that came in with the "new" lost disc rule. As I was not familiar with these rules I hated to question the group member's word. I am a non-confrontationalist (is that a word???) , but when it comes to a place or two in a tourney from now on I will speak my mind and play a provisional or call an official if nescessary.
Again, thanks for the info.
denny1210
Jul 23 2006, 12:44 AM
803.01 D (3) would apply to the given scenario:
"If an official is not readily available, the group shall proceed in one of two ways. The group may reach a majority decision with the benefit of the doubt going to the thrower, and continue play. Alternatively, if the thrower does not wish to continue play under the group's majority decision, the thrower may declare a provisional per 803.01C. The use of provisional throws is encouraged in all situations where the thrower questions the group's or official's ruling."
AviarX
Jul 23 2006, 11:28 AM
i find it helpful not to look at rules discussions as confrontation (in the negative sense of that word). rather know the rule book and carry it. if someone insists on a version of a rule you have never heard of -- ask them to show you it in the rule book (hand them the latest version). show them the rule in the book you feel applies and read it out if need be. then be ready to use provisionals if there remains a difference of opinion.
quickdisc
Jul 25 2006, 05:11 PM
Is there any rule stating the basket has to be atleast 10 meters from OB ?
rhett
Jul 25 2006, 05:32 PM
Is there any rule stating the basket has to be atleast 10 meters from OB ?
No.
There are no rules for design, only recommendations. :)
quickdisc
Jul 25 2006, 05:38 PM
Is there any rule stating the basket has to be atleast 10 meters from OB ?
No.
There are no rules for design, only recommendations. :)
That changes the dynamics of the putting circle.
august
Jul 26 2006, 07:54 AM
Is there any rule stating the basket has to be atleast 10 meters from OB ?
No.
There are no rules for design, only recommendations. :)
Disc golf is so young that course design standards are still being worked out. Major progress has been made, but there's still no universal consensus on what's considered acceptable. There are schools of thought, but nothing unified.
hazard
Aug 04 2006, 03:39 PM
Is there any rule stating the basket has to be atleast 10 meters from OB ?
No.
There are no rules for design, only recommendations. :)
Well, there may BE such a rule, but it is in no way official.
My personal rule is more specific: If I see a hole which has OB within 10 meters of the pin, the pin is reachable but not visible from near the teepad, and the tee sign does not give clear indication of the hazard, then I'm going to complain about it annoyingly at least once. :D