tanner
Jan 30 2006, 02:54 PM
If I become an official, mostly so I understand the rules, can I not make rules calls if I see an infraction in my group?

C. Each official must pass the PDGA Officials Exam, and must carry a copy of the rules. D. Non-playing certified officials may actively make rulings during any tournament play that they witness. If an official competes in a tournament, he or she may not officiate for any ruling within his or her own division. The official�s ruling supersedes the ruling of the group, but an appeal may be made to the tournament director. The director may empower non-certified officials to act as spotters for a specific purpose. The ruling of such a spotter supersedes the ruling of the group.

This seems to say so. It doesn't seem right, but I think I'm reading it correctly.

gnduke
Jan 30 2006, 03:16 PM
There are special powers given to an official by the rules.

An official does not require a second on violations that require a two or more players to agree (marking violation, foot fault...).
An officials ruling overrules a majority card ruling.

A player may not act as an official within their own division, but a player may act as a player within their own division and make whatever calls are appropriate.

tanner
Jan 30 2006, 03:23 PM
Thanks. That answered my next question too. :D