I have a question about this rule dealing with water. If my disc has come to rest on the side of a gully where water is in the middle of the gully. If my back foot is touch the water am I still in a legal stance or is it illegal to have your foot in the water?
rhett
Aug 01 2005, 02:37 PM
Water is casual unless specifically called OB by the TD, so unless the TD has called the water OB you can stand in the water and throw. (Or take casual relief.)
Nice non-answer. Of course the water is OB or he never would have asked.
The answer is no, you can't let your foot in the OB water. It's OB, that means out of bounds. It's not a legal place for anything. You can't leave your foot there, you can't set your bag down there. You can't set your beer can there. You can't even [I'm a potty-mouth!] there. I think there's a stroke penalty for pissing out of bounds.
rhett
Aug 02 2005, 03:32 AM
Nice non-answer. Of course the water is OB or he never would have asked.
Per the PDGA Rules of Play, all water is casual unless specifically called OB by the TD. Therefore you should assume that it's casual unless the original poster tells you it's OB.
johnbiscoe
Aug 02 2005, 01:42 PM
if the water is ob you get a meter relief (perp to the ob line) from it and may not stand in the water, if it is casual you may either play it where it lies standing in the water or take casual relief (backwards on a line from your lie, up to 5 meters i believe?).
august
Aug 02 2005, 04:10 PM
If the course allows alcoholic beverages, and it's not a PDGA sanctioned round, you may set your beer in the OB area.
You can't set your bag down in OB? Is that right or were you being facetious?
Setting the Beer in one of these rivers wouldnt be the smartest thing considering that they are very dirty.
quickdisc
Aug 02 2005, 09:28 PM
Unplayable Lie :
Standing on one of your group members while driving :eek:
Putting , while having your foot on his neck :eek:
These are not good things to be doing to a bad member of your foursome. /msgboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gif
bruce_brakel
Aug 02 2005, 10:07 PM
I have a question about this rule dealing with water. If my disc has come to rest on the side of a gully where water is in the middle of the gully. If my back foot is touch the water am I still in a legal stance or is it illegal to have your foot in the water?
Even if the water is o.b. it is not correct to say that you cannot stand with one foot in the water. You cannot throw with either foot in the water at the time of release. However if you push off the foot in the water and throw with the wet foot in the air, that's legal.
haroldduvall
Aug 03 2005, 06:10 PM
Water's designation is not limited to either OB or casual. Water can be designated a regular obstacle too. During rainy conditions when the whole course is littered with puddles, we've used this designation to prevent folks from moving their lies inordinately.
Take care,
Harold
bruce_brakel
Aug 03 2005, 06:24 PM
Water's designation is not limited to either OB or casual. Water can be designated a regular obstacle too. During rainy conditions when the whole course is littered with puddles, we've used this designation to prevent folks from moving their lies inordinately.
Take care,
Harold
I had to read the rules for a bit to figure out where it says that a TD can declare water to be neither o.b. nor casual. It's there.
bruce_brakel
Aug 03 2005, 06:28 PM
Of course, if you did declare water to be an ordinary obstacle, would not stepping in the puddle where your disc landed result in moving an obstacle in front of your lie? Rhett? :D
haroldduvall
Aug 03 2005, 11:11 PM
I reckon that the foot action would be part of the throwing motion, and the movement of the water would be incedental to the throw.
Take care,
Harold
Water's designation is not limited to either OB or casual. Water can be designated a regular obstacle too. During rainy conditions when the whole course is littered with puddles, we've used this designation to prevent folks from moving their lies inordinately.
Take care,
Harold
There was a tournament in which I played in March of 2003 where 6 inches or so of snow melted when it reached about 60 degrees. The whole course was covered in about 3 inches of water. Now I dont know if there is anything in the pdga rulebook but a person in my groups disc started floating down the fairway towards the basket what would be the proper call for the discs lie?
krupicka
Aug 10 2005, 10:34 AM
There was a tournament in which I played in March of 2003 where 6 inches or so of snow melted when it reached about 60 degrees. The whole course was covered in about 3 inches of water. Now I dont know if there is anything in the pdga rulebook but a person in my groups disc started floating down the fairway towards the basket what would be the proper call for the discs lie?
The rule book is available (http://www.pdga.com/rules/index.php) for free on this site, I recommend reading it. If you look under "Marking The Lie"...
803.02 F. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water.
Of course getting your mini to stay put is another matter. :D
quickdisc
Aug 15 2005, 10:43 PM
There was a tournament in which I played in March of 2003 where 6 inches or so of snow melted when it reached about 60 degrees. The whole course was covered in about 3 inches of water. Now I dont know if there is anything in the pdga rulebook but a person in my groups disc started floating down the fairway towards the basket what would be the proper call for the discs lie?
The rule book is available (http://www.pdga.com/rules/index.php) for free on this site, I recommend reading it. If you look under "Marking The Lie"...
803.02 F. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water.
Of course getting your mini to stay put is another matter. :D
Unless your mini weights a pound !!!!!
rhett
Aug 21 2005, 03:52 AM
Water's designation is not limited to either OB or casual. Water can be designated a regular obstacle too. During rainy conditions when the whole course is littered with puddles, we've used this designation to prevent folks from moving their lies inordinately.
Take care,
Harold
Perhaps you have declared standing water to be a "non-obstacle"? :)
But that is a good point and something new to consider for things like, oh, the Wintertime Open.
pterodactyl
Aug 23 2005, 01:18 AM
Play it where it lies.
quickdisc
Aug 25 2005, 05:44 PM
Water's designation is not limited to either OB or casual. Water can be designated a regular obstacle too. During rainy conditions when the whole course is littered with puddles, we've used this designation to prevent folks from moving their lies inordinately.
Take care,
Harold
Perhaps you have declared standing water to be a "non-obstacle"? :)
But that is a good point and something new to consider for things like, oh, the Wintertime Open.
Wintertime Open has also running water. I'm usually not prepared to put from the ponds. /msgboard/images/graemlins/smirk.gif