I was in a tournament recently and one of the players on my card teed off and slipped on the tee pad. he then proceeded to call foot default. I had never heard of this before and was puzzled!! Another guy on the card said he had heard of this before and gave a warning to the guy and he got to throw again. Is this legit or what??
if someone calls you on a foot fault you get a rethrow.. usually you have to call it within 3 seconds or osmething, but that is true from what i've read.
they would get warned and would get to throw again.
-Scott Lewis
I was in a tournament and a guy yelled "foot fart." I didn't know what he meant.
Then again he had a thick downstate New Yoak accent
Parkntwoputt
Jul 19 2005, 10:04 AM
I was in a tournament recently and one of the players on my card teed off and slipped on the tee pad. he then proceeded to call foot default. I had never heard of this before and was puzzled!! Another guy on the card said he had heard of this before and gave a warning to the guy and he got to throw again. Is this legit or what??
Slipping off the tee pad or beyond your lie if your further then 10 meters from the basket results in nothing IF you had released the disc prior to stepping over the line. If you release the disc after you cross the plane then it is a foot fault.
I over step my lie when I throw hard all the time, it is because of my follow through. But I always release the disc behind the line of play.
chiapat
Jul 22 2005, 03:31 PM
As stated if he let go of the disc after he was off the pad then yes it would be a foot fault, HOWEVER I do not think he can call it on himself. Someone has to call him on it otherwise people would use it as a mulligan more often!
gnduke
Jul 22 2005, 04:43 PM
You can call it on yourself, but it has to be confirmed by another player or an official to be valid.
A call by an official does not normally require confirmation, and section 803.03.F supports this <font color="blue">The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group.</font>.
The wording of section 803.03.G <font color="blue">G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. </font> opens the rule for argument that even an official's call requires a second, but I don't think it would be a very strong argument.
"If an official competes in a tournament, he or she may not officiate for any ruling within his or her own division."
(804.09 D.)
So if you are an official, and you make this call in your group, you still need a second.
gnduke
Jul 22 2005, 05:53 PM
You can never act as an official within your own division.
That much is already known, so that portion of the rule does not apply to officials within the group/division. Which brings up the question of caddies. Caddies are considered to be an extension of the player for rules of conduct (the player is liable for courtesy violations committed by their caddy). Would a caddy that is also an official also be excluded from acting as an official for the division of the player they are caddying for ?
rhett
Jul 23 2005, 01:22 AM
I would say "yes".
Calling a foot fault on your self - hum!. Seems to be like taking a mulligan, as long as you can get someone to second it.. (Which is pretty easy, people wanting to be agreeable) And I'm sure on a good shot he's not going to call a foot fault on himself!
But, the rules do seem to accommodate this! If I felt that this rule was being exploited by the player. I would ask all the other players in the group to watch him very closely for additional foot faults because each following fault is a penalty stroke!
It's called being honest. :)
I don't look at my feet when I throw, I won't be able to call myself. If it's a concrete tee, I can feel when my foot steps over the raised edge at the end of the tee pad, on a natural tee I couldn't tell.
A friend of mine told me during doubles, you keep a close eye on your partners feet and their disc path. Within 3s, call it and your partner can second it.
As stated, the first one is a warning and the rest are strokes. It's a strategy that can be used once a round.