warlocks00
May 27 2005, 03:34 PM
Ok we are having a difference of opinions here at a local course. The course has a lot of street OB. We played in a tourney out of town, were they said that if a disc is leaning on a curb it is safe so we thought that was the rule, but some of the guys that have been playing a while around here say that it should be called OB. What is the correct call on a disc leaning on the curb and not touching any grass?
thanks
bapmaster
May 27 2005, 03:41 PM
Whatever the TD says is the correct ruling.
sschumacher
May 27 2005, 03:48 PM
I would think that if the edge of the disc is in the street and the disc is leaning on the curb, it would be OB. If you consider the street to be like water OB and your disc is surrounded by water, or street in this case, I'm thinking that would be OB.
Though there are some guys around here that might say that if your disc was touching a beer can that was touching grass, then it's inbounds. :confused: :D
rhett
May 27 2005, 04:16 PM
Whatever the TD says is the correct ruling.
ck34
May 27 2005, 04:48 PM
To avoid the issue of leaning discs and how far they are leaning. I think many TDs are going toward the grass/curb line being the better OB line. So, if any part of the disc is over or touching grass, it's IB. Otherwise, OB.
rhett
May 27 2005, 04:51 PM
Whatever the TD says is the correct ruling.
davei
May 27 2005, 04:51 PM
Whatever the TD says is correct, however there are two practical ways to set it up. One is to say if it is supported by the street level, it is OB. Not exactly PDGA, but it works. The other is to call the grass surface in bounds, and the curb surface OB. The grass surface does not include blades of grass sticking over the curb surface. Usually, a disc which is on the playing surface (grass) and curb, is not a question. With ordinary curbs, these are always fair. As soon as the disc goes over the falls, so to speak, it is OB. Always.
rhett
May 27 2005, 04:53 PM
I agree with Chuck that the best line to use as the OB line is the line where the grass/dirt meets the curb.
But it is still whatever the TD says it is.
ck34
May 27 2005, 04:59 PM
There are some areas where there's a good line between a more white cement curb and darker asphalt street which can also work well when desired. The problem with touching or being supported by the street is that most curbs we see around here have a relatively shallow curve to them and I've seen discs on angles where it defies making a fair call.
rhett
May 27 2005, 05:08 PM
We usually rule the curb itself out of bounds. Hence using the "hi-side" line where the curb meets the grass/dirt. If there is a sidewalk attached to the curb, the sidewalk is usually OB, and the line is where the other side of the sidewalk meets the grass/dirt.
Your description has the curb inbounds.
ck34
May 27 2005, 05:12 PM
And we also use the high side line. My last post was identifying situations where the curb could be IB and some inherent issues involved.
keithjohnson
May 27 2005, 05:13 PM
yes rhett we know...curb and asphalt are considered "sidewalk",even when the "REAL" sidewalk is only 2 feet behind the "asphalt with curb" sidewalk :p
actually that only applies at la mirada when i'm playing there...otherwise it is done as dave dunnipace says it is :eek: :eek:
warlocks00
May 27 2005, 11:40 PM
I understand if the TD says it's safe or not safe, then that is the way it is... I was asking more for non-tourney play. Just to clearify which way to pay it in a casual round.
rhett
May 28 2005, 12:16 AM
I don't know about where you are, but out here it's pretty much the same TD for tourneys at the same course. So you shoul dplay it however that TD will call it so you are used to it for any tourney you play there.
Curbs aren't in the rulebook, so there is no "right way" to play them. :)
quickdisc
May 28 2005, 02:15 AM
I don't know about where you are, but out here it's pretty much the same TD for tourneys at the same course. So you shoul dplay it however that TD will call it so you are used to it for any tourney you play there.
Curbs aren't in the rulebook, so there is no "right way" to play them. :)
Exactly. Try and find the TD for that specific course your playing.
I have played different courses with different rulings made by the TD.
Sometimes leaners are good . Other times it has to be touching fair ground.
Rule book does not state specific Curb Rulings.
When in Doubt though , I'd play it as having to be touching fair ground with at least part of the disc. Just to be safe.
Of course with a group decision on the call. :D
emerald_isle
May 28 2005, 05:13 AM
I don't know about where you are, but out here it's pretty much the same TD for tourneys at the same course. So you shoul dplay it however that TD will call it so you are used to it for any tourney you play there.
Curbs aren't in the rulebook, so there is no "right way" to play them. :)
Exactly. Try and find the TD for that specific course your playing.
I have played different courses with different rulings made by the TD.
Sometimes leaners are good . Other times it has to be touching fair ground.
Rule book does not state specific Curb Rulings.
When in Doubt though , I'd play it as having to be touching fair ground with at least part of the disc. Just to be safe.
Of course with a group decision on the call. :D
How about the blade of grass in the Sandtrap :D
quickdisc
May 28 2005, 03:53 PM
I don't know about where you are, but out here it's pretty much the same TD for tourneys at the same course. So you shoul dplay it however that TD will call it so you are used to it for any tourney you play there.
Curbs aren't in the rulebook, so there is no "right way" to play them. :)
Exactly. Try and find the TD for that specific course your playing.
I have played different courses with different rulings made by the TD.
Sometimes leaners are good . Other times it has to be touching fair ground.
Rule book does not state specific Curb Rulings.
When in Doubt though , I'd play it as having to be touching fair ground with at least part of the disc. Just to be safe.
Of course with a group decision on the call. :D
How about the blade of grass in the Sandtrap :D
Good call Skip !!!! When we play the sandtraps, There should be atleast an edge or lip to the sand trap.
I think the disc should be touching part of the edge or lip of the sandtrap. If the disc is in the sandtrap touching a blade of grass , hanging over the edge of the lip , Hmmmmmmmmm...... that's probably Out of Bounds.
Unless the Tournament Director states otherwise. :D
You are right though. PDGA does not list O.B.'s on ball golf course's , for Disc Golfers. That's kind of a new standard for players. Same goes for the Fringe off the Green. :D
Players do not know this unless they have played on a Ball Golf Course , with Discs. :D
Thanks Skip as always for your input.
Emerald Isle's is like a Paradise for Disc Golfers.
Clubhouse with all the ammenities.
Restrooms , Pro-shop , Deli - both hot and cold food , Drinks,
sandwiches , Clothing , Television , Golf Carts available !!!!!!
Awesome. Playing there kinda spoils you !!!!!!
Country Club Living at a fraction of the cost !!!!!! :eek:
Super Friendly Staff that caters to your needs !!!!!!
If your on vacation out to California , make this one of your Disc Golf stops !!!!!!! You'll be glad you did !!!!!!!
Oh , Thursday night. Doubles , singles and other formats available. Check it out !!!!! :D
emerald_isle
May 29 2005, 07:11 AM
Emerald Isle's is like a Paradise for Disc Golfers.
Clubhouse with all the ammenities.
Restrooms , Pro-shop , Deli - both hot and cold food , Drinks,
sandwiches , Clothing , Television , Golf Carts available !!!!!!
Awesome. Playing there kinda spoils you !!!!!!
Country Club Living at a fraction of the cost !!!!!! :eek:
Super Friendly Staff that caters to your needs !!!!!!
If your on vacation out to California , make this one of your Disc Golf stops !!!!!!! You'll be glad you did !!!!!!!
Oh , Thursday night. Doubles , singles and other formats available. Check it out !!!!! :D
Can you tell Don is my PR man
Rhett and I always use a lot of paint on the 3 Large and 1 small Lake around EIEIO tournament time
The Fringe of our Greens are cut real short, almost tempted to dye the edge of Green and Fringe this year
Santraps can be a tough call sometimes
Fine line between turf and sand
not exactly a straight line
anyway enough with my problems :D
bruce_brakel
May 30 2005, 06:17 AM
At Lombard today the TD called it, "Parking lot is ob." The asphalt parking lot had a rolled concrete curb. Since I was in charge while he was playing, I called the disc entirely on the cobcrete but not at all in the grass o.b.
warlocks00
May 31 2005, 12:48 PM
thanks for the response...I thought it should be played OB(of course unless a TD says otherwise).
quickdisc
May 31 2005, 04:04 PM
No Problem !!!! The more known , the easier it is to make the call. :D
ANHYZER
Jun 01 2005, 04:03 AM
Would the disc leaning against the curb (http://www.picture-newsletter.com/streetparade/garbage-street-parade-u6.jpg) be considered in bounds?
Kevin Gomez and Rhett Stroh were in the group I was playing with and they said it was OB, so I marked it a few feet from the watermelon, then canned my putt to save par.
Parkntwoputt
Jun 01 2005, 09:30 AM
Like echoed earlier, it is all about how the TD states what is OB.
I just played a tournament where a creek and a street w/curb come into play and are OB. The TD stated, no program for reference, that IN the creek and all cement besides sidewalks were OB. Last year at the same tournament, anything in the cement was OB, AND any disc in the rocks surrounding the creek and OVER the creek were OB.
In our group, a player threw a disc over the creek but was dry. We agreed that even though last year that would be OB, this year the TD just said "in the creek" our group allowed that player to cross the creek and with a miraculous 50ft putt saved par.
I on the other hand was on the other side of these rulings. We had a 8-10mph head wind on a 425ft hole. I proceeded to throw my 1st run Starfire, but the wind was just enough to turn it over. It flew over the street but faded back in bounds. It unfortunately caught an edge and we saw it dissapear out of sight pin high but right at the line of the OB road. Once walking up to the disc, we saw it leaning on the short height curb but it was 2 inches out of bounds, but still on the concrete division that was the curb and not the street.
If the TD would have stated the street was OB, I could have debated that since my disc was not touching the cement of the street. But since she said that the cement was out, then I was unfortunately OB.
So listen carefully, and you could argue your way out of a penalty stroke depending on exactly how the wording of what is considered OB.