Feb 07 2005, 05:51 PM
I was playing in a doubles tournament this weekend and there was problem figuring out how to rule and one particular play. PDGA does not have and standards for doubles, which can lead to this problem.
Both members of one team teed off and after the first member of the second team teed off it was discovered that we were playing from the wrong tee. The second member from that team teed off from the correct tee, and the third team teed off from the correct tee. The first team were to be accesed a penalty, and they both teed off from the correct tee and everyone played the hole out from there. The question is how to penalize the teams.
A. Every player get a stroke- the first team gets stroked twice, the second team gets stroked once.
B. Each team gets stroked once- don't double-penalize the first team, but don't let the second team get away scot-free.
C. The first team gets one stroke, the second team gets none.

You make the call

bruce_brakel
Feb 07 2005, 05:56 PM
What doubles game were you playing, best shot?

bruce_brakel
Feb 07 2005, 06:01 PM
I think the answer is covered if you read 801.04 and the third paragraph of the on-line rules for doubles.

ck34
Feb 07 2005, 06:14 PM
Pretty straight forward assuming it's Best Shot doubles? Team One gets a 1-throw penalty. Team Two only gets a penalty if they used the drive from the player who threw from the wrong tee. No penalty for Team Three (unless one of those people was the TD and you give him a warning for screwing up on which tee to play).

gnduke
Feb 07 2005, 06:19 PM
The first team gets one stroke for a misplay. (only one stroke because only one shot was used from the next tee).

The second team gets a stroke penalty if they use the disc of the player that teed from the incorrect tee. If they use the disc of the player that only teed from the correct tee,then no penalty should be given.

Much the same as OB strokes. If both players on one team are OB, then there is a stroke penalty. If only one player is OB then if that shot is not used, there is not penalty.

magilla
Feb 08 2005, 02:33 PM
Pretty straight forward assuming it's Best Shot doubles? Team One gets a 1-throw penalty. Team Two only gets a penalty if they used the drive from the player who threw from the wrong tee. No penalty for Team Three (unless one of those people was the TD and you give him a warning for screwing up on which tee to play).



This is originally how it was scored but after the 3rd Team complained, The TD issued a 2 stroke penalty to the first Team and a 1 stroke penalty to the second team. It was argued that those throws from the wrong tee were "Practice Throws" and should be dealt with accordingly.

Be it known that third Team was trying to get themselves closer to the second team who had a chance for Last Place Cash...but alas KARMA speaks volumes.. The thrid team missed a 20' putt on the last hole to lose out by 1 STROKE.
:eek:

BTW - I was on the second Team and realized we were on the wrong tee as I stepped up to tee off :p

In the end it did not make a difference, but "Pressure" from a "Senior" club member (Third Team Player) caused the original decision to be changed :mad:

nix
Feb 08 2005, 04:04 PM
test

pterodactyl
Feb 09 2005, 01:54 AM
Pretty straight forward assuming it's Best Shot doubles? Team One gets a 1-throw penalty. Team Two only gets a penalty if they used the drive from the player who threw from the wrong tee. No penalty for Team Three (unless one of those people was the TD and you give him a warning for screwing up on which tee to play).



That's what I told them after the incident (except the part about the TD). Nobody ever listens to me! :confused:

Karma is a good thing.

rhett
Feb 09 2005, 02:41 AM
The first team gets one stroke for a misplay. (only one stroke because only one shot was used from the next tee).


Hold on there. "Course misplay" is a two-stroke penalty, and it is only assessed if the misplay is discovered after a subsequent throw is made (by that player or team).

A practice throw is a penalty, no warning. Team one should be penalized 2 throws for taking two practice throws. Team two should get a one throw penalty.

Since a practice throw does not affect the lie, you can't link the penalty to throw. It's not like going OB at all. If I throw a shot OB, the OB penalty is linked to the shot I threw. If we take my throw, we take the penalty that goes with it. A practice throw is not linked to a lie, and in fact I have either already thrown or I still have to throw. The penalty is incurred, period, and I have a legal throw somewhere that is not related at all to the penalty.

It is akin to a courtesy violation. Both partners don't have to be a-holes to get a courtesy violation. Otherwise I could just have my partner scream in your ear while you putt and I could behave, and you couldn't call us for anything. Same with a practice throw. If I throw a practice throw, boom it's a penalty. If partner throws a practice thow too, it's another one. If I throw another practice throw, it's another penalty.

ck34
Feb 09 2005, 03:29 AM
The tee throw only becomes a practice throw by rule that the throw was made from the 'Wrong Tee' 801.04B. So it is connected and not just a free standing practice throw like tossing the disc a little too far to your bag. Separate from that, in Best Shot, a partner can leave and the remaining player can complete the round. So, what the other player does would not affect the score on any of those holes he missed. Implication being that you choose what one player or the other does on each shot.

Let's say one partner wants to return to the car to get a disc. He could make throws on the way to the car and back (assuming the course was clear) to practice. His partner officially plays a complete hole solo while he's gone. I would give the team a courtesy violation for subverting the rules but those practice throws wouldn't technically count in this case.

gnduke
Feb 09 2005, 01:19 PM
It is not the same as a courtesy violation. Courtesy violations generally have nothing to do with course play and as such are applicable regardless of which throw is used.

I would hold that the in best shot doubles, the lie chosen and any penalty strokes applicable to it are all that apply. If the lie you choose has no penalty strokes that apply to it, then any penalies that apply to the other partner's shot have no bearing.

rhett
Feb 09 2005, 05:05 PM
A practice throw is not associated with any lie, because by definition it does not change the lie.

A practice throw "just happens." :)

gnduke
Feb 09 2005, 11:25 PM
True, but it is kind of associated with the player and lie.

Anyway, that's my opinion and reasoning. I'll stand by it unless the RC tells me different. I would expect you to do the same.


Unless you have already come to your senses and changed your mind. :D