MTL21676
Dec 20 2004, 06:49 PM
I've seen in once - hole 2 at ECU in Greenville NC
It's a goofy 125 footer with a 90 degree mando. Scotty Faison missed the mando (unitentionally) and it went in.
I thought that since the mando was missed, it didn't matter where the disc landed. He said it was a circle 3 and that once the hole has been completed once, it's over.
(this was a while ago, I was just thinking about it)
What's the call and why?
bschweberger
Dec 20 2004, 06:57 PM
Go to the drop zone, because the hole was NOT completed, he did not go around the Mando.
ck34
Dec 20 2004, 07:00 PM
Once the disc has landed somewhere after missing the mando, the mando penalty is what takes precedence. It doesn't make any differnce if the disc is sitting more than 2 meters in a tree in an OB area. The player is throwing their third shot from the mando drop zone. Even if you discovered the missed mando in an event (player thinks they have an ace) after your group continued to play more holes, you would add the 2-throw penalty on top of the missed mando penalty plus the tee throw making the score a 4 not 3.
bruce_brakel
Dec 20 2004, 07:00 PM
STTP is correcTT.
MTL21676
Dec 20 2004, 07:01 PM
I knew I was right.
Scotty cheats a lot :D
you could take whatever ....you have to throw from the drop, ace on not....missing the mando is 1 stroke and a retee or the drop zone if their is one..
bschweberger
Dec 20 2004, 07:03 PM
TThanks BB
jconnell
Dec 20 2004, 07:06 PM
I agree with you MTL...he didn't finish the hole. The rule doesn't mention any procedure if the shot that misses the mando is holed out.
803.11 MANDATORIES
A. A mandatory restricts the path the disc may take to the target. A disc must pass to the correct side of the mandatory before the hole is completed.
I'd say he should have gone back to the mando drop zone and continued play from there with the stroke penalty. He pulled the circle three ruling out of his you-know-where.
As for his statement that once a hole is "been completed once, it's over" is wrong also. A stance violation (foot faults) can also negate a holed out shot, since the penalty for a called and seconded stance violation always involves a re-throw.
--Josh
ck34
Dec 20 2004, 07:16 PM
Scott was perhaps trying to invoke 801.04 Playing the Stipulated Course B(2) Misplayed Mandatory. However, the rule is there to handle 'honest' mistakes. It's not a player choice. You could have invoked 801.04 F which could result in a possible DQ for Scott for a deliberate misplay.
sandalman
Dec 20 2004, 09:28 PM
...if the disc is sitting more than 2 meters in a tree in an OB area...
are you really trying to get nick involved in this discusion??? or just feeling like the 2m rule needs a new thread? :D