Luke Butch
Dec 01 2004, 02:58 PM
I've read on the board that it is possible after a drive or any shot to rethrow from the previous lie with a 1 stroke penalty. I'm not reffering to drop zones or OB, just re teeing after a really bad drive. I had instances where I would like to do this, but was unsure of the rules and did not have a rule book on me.

As anyone ever seen this rule used during a round?

neonnoodle
Dec 01 2004, 03:02 PM
Luke,

Not to be a pain, but have you read our rules? To read them start to finish is about 30 minutes tops. And with the search engine and table of contents link here at PDGA.com, you should be able to get your answer for yourself within 5 or 10 minutes tops. If you can't then let's discuss what you found and didn't find, ok?

Nick

Luke Butch
Dec 01 2004, 03:09 PM
I didn't find anything, which is part of why I was asking. I've heard about this from posts on here, but had never seen anything in the rule book.

So, I guess since I didn't find anything there is no rule?

girlie
Dec 01 2004, 03:35 PM
Hi Luke,

I think this is the info you are seeking

803.08 OUT OF BOUNDS
A. A disc shall be considered out-of-bounds only when it comes to rest and it is clearly and completely surrounded by the out-of-bounds area. A disc thrown in water shall be deemed to be at rest once it is floating or is moving only by the action of the water or the wind on the water. See section 803.02 F. The out-of-bounds line itself is considered in-bounds.

B. A player whose disc is considered out-of-bounds shall receive one penalty throw. The player may elect to play the next shot from: (1) The previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved from an approximate lie, as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official ; or (2) A lie that is up to one meter away from and perpendicular to the point where the disc last crossed into out-of-bounds, as determined by a majority of the group or an official. This holds true even if the direction takes the lie closer to the hole; or (3) Within the designated Drop Zone, if provided. These options may be limited by the tournament director as a special condition (see 804.01).

C. The Rule of Verticality- The out-of-bounds line represents a vertical plane. Where a player's lie is marked from a particular point within one meter of the out-of-bounds line pursuant to the rules, the one-meter relief may be taken from the particular point upward or downward along the vertical plane.

D. If the in-bounds status of a disc is uncertain, either a majority of the group or an official shall make the determination. If the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc shall be considered out-of-bounds, and he or she shall proceed in accordance with 803.08 B. If a player other than the thrower moves the disc before a determination has been made, the disc shall be considered in-bounds, and play for the thrower and the mover of the disc shall proceed under the rules of interference, 803.06 B and C.

E. A throw that misses a mandatory shall be penalized and the lie marked according to the mandatory rule (803.11). It will not be further penalized for any other reason, such as out-of-bounds or above two meters.

ck34
Dec 01 2004, 03:38 PM
You can choose to retee if your drive is OB. You receive a one throw penalty. Or, you can choose to retee regardless where your tee shot goes. You receive a 2-throw penalty, so your next throw is your fourth (Unsafe). You must retee if you go OB in a hazard the TD has specified that's the only option for everyone. Or, you must retee if you were called on a foot fault. First time there's no penalty. Second time in the round it's a one throw penalty. And, one more would be you missed a mando on your tee shot and the drop zone is the tee.

Luke Butch
Dec 01 2004, 03:45 PM
The two shot penalty regardless of where your drive went is what I was wondering about. I was unsure if it was possible, and if so how many strokes.

Thanks.

ck34
Dec 01 2004, 03:47 PM
You don't even have to go back to the tee. You can take a lie anywhere on the fairway that's no closer to the hole than where your disc ended up (by group agreement, if lost, which tacks on another penalty).

sandalman
Dec 01 2004, 05:50 PM
that's no closer to the hole than where your disc ended up

including on the opposite side of the pin! use this to your advantage! lets says there's crap all over the normal route to the pin that you dont want to deal with... simply pic up the disc, pace it off to the basket, then choose ANY direction and proceed as many paces. mark the spot and throw unimpeded to the pin!

until there is truly such a thing as a "fairway", which there currently isnt at 99.99% of the tourneys, this is 100% percent allowed by the PDGA rules.

and to think they're spending time cheapening existing courses by johnsoning with the 2m rule!

:D:confused: :D

gnduke
Dec 01 2004, 06:19 PM
You may think that never happens, but it did two years ago in KC. On the down under course, a player just missed the basket on his drive and rolled down the hill almost to the road. It paced off to just over 200' up a slope covered with 1"-2" thick trees. He took a 2 stroke penalty and moved his lie back to the fairway just short of the tee box. Took a 5 or 6 and moved on.

Dec 01 2004, 09:28 PM
You don't even have to go back to the tee. You can take a lie anywhere on the fairway that's no closer to the hole than where your disc ended up (by group agreement, if lost, which tacks on another penalty).



That's the unsafe lie rule your quoting. Nothing to do with lost.

Lost is (currently) played where it was last seen with a one stroke penalty.

Much of this will change with the new rule book (maybe).

circle_2
Dec 02 2004, 02:47 PM
Hey Gary! I was on that card...and remember being flabbergasted that the disc was even found!! :cool:

gnduke
Dec 02 2004, 04:27 PM
If I could have stopped my own momentum before I reached the bottom of the hill, it wouldn't have been found. :cool:

circle_2
Dec 02 2004, 06:25 PM
:D