Oct 10 2004, 04:33 PM
If you throw your disc and it lands in some sort of water, and the water is not marked out of bounds, do you just throw it from there?

At my home course there is a river that is not listed as out of bounds, and when i land a disc in there i just go in because its not too deep and just putt from there.

jconnell
Oct 10 2004, 04:52 PM
803.04 OBSTACLES & RELIEF

C. Casual Obstacles: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, spectators, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round. The type of relief a player may obtain is based on the location of the obstacle and is limited as follows:...
(2) Casual obstacles to stance or throwing motion: The player must first attempt to remove the obstacle. If this is impractical, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the hole; is on the line of play; and not more than five meters from the original lie, as agreed to by a majority of the group or an official (unless greater casual relief is announced by the director). Alternatively, the player may declare an unsafe lie and proceed in accordance with 803.05.


Or you just play it where it lies if you don't mind the wet feet. The key words in the rule is may obtain relief. So if you don't want it, you don't need to take it.

--Josh

slo
Oct 10 2004, 04:53 PM
Metal minis don't float... ;)

Oct 10 2004, 09:14 PM
If melat doesnt float then get a nice wood one :p <font color="666666"> </font>

stevev
Oct 11 2004, 02:03 AM
Please be careful standing in ANY river. This is a tough rule to understand sometimes, for me, when the disc is "not completey surrounded by water but partially in the water." That is to say, some porction(sp) of the disc is phyisically touching the water, yet another porction(sp) of the disc is not touching water, i.e.above the surface of the water and only touching air. Like when you throw into a creek or pond where the water level is below normal level and it's half in and half out of the water/mud transition area. Can you dig it? In retrospect, I really need to read up on and study the PDGA Rule Book. Go Cardinals!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cool:

Oct 11 2004, 11:19 AM
Please be careful standing in ANY river. This is a tough rule to understand sometimes, for me, when the disc is "not completey surrounded by water but partially in the water." That is to say, some porction(sp) of the disc is phyisically touching the water, yet another porction(sp) of the disc is not touching water, i.e.above the surface of the water and only touching air. Like when you throw into a creek or pond where the water level is below normal level and it's half in and half out of the water/mud transition area. Can you dig it? In retrospect, I really need to read up on and study the PDGA Rule Book. Go Cardinals!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :cool:



As long as it is surrounded by water it does not matter if a portion of the disc is above the water...that is as long as the TD has declared the water to be OB.

Plankeye
Oct 11 2004, 11:31 AM
The mud/water transitions is why a lot of tournies shouldn't just say "surrounded by water is OB" They need to rope off the water OB. It will save a lot of hassle and discussion in the group, if there is a questionable call.