aquaman308
May 09 2011, 10:34 PM
I just played in my third event at the Almance Pro-Am. Nice Event by the way. I was just asking the question. How can a non PDGA member take home the top prize in Rec or Intermediate when they are not members. A local came in and blew the Rec division out of the water playing better than most intermediate players, with close to a 950 rating that day. I thought Membership had its rewards. I am new to the sport, but i joined the PDGA to respect the other players and work towards a rating. Would it be better if the Non Members play, but Members get placed in prizes or awards ahead of these till they sign up as a Member.. A little help if I am completely wrong..Enjoy the game!!!!

jmonny
May 10 2011, 01:06 PM
Only in A Tiers or higher do you have to be a pdga member. Otherwise anybody can play in a sanctioned event. Some people just aren't "joiners" but you don't want to limit the lower tiered event because you want to attract as many as possible to help the TD

ishkatbible
May 10 2011, 02:15 PM
i had a similar question a while back. a non-member who refused to join, kept winning rec year after year and would not move up because he was not rated. nothing really to do about it... but after a while i guess he got tired of being boo'ed and called a bagger that he finally moved up this year

krupicka
May 10 2011, 02:18 PM
TDs have the right to restrict which divisions a non-member is eligible for. We've been doing that for years to help ensure fair competition for the Am divisions.

MTL21676
May 10 2011, 08:02 PM
The winner of the Rec division at this event won by 4 strokes. 1 shot a round. Throwing .019% less shots than the runner up. I certainly don't consider that running away with the field.

jconnell
May 10 2011, 10:18 PM
The winner of the Rec division at this event won by 4 strokes. 1 shot a round. Throwing .019% less shots than the runner up. I certainly don't consider that running away with the field.