Pages : [1] 2 3 4

redsealking
Feb 07 2010, 12:48 AM
Ever since I started playing disc golf, as I imagine most people do, I started collecting discs with unique stamps, first run discs, and classics. As a person interested in starting a disc collection, is anyone aware of any resources for dating discs, determining value, etc.?

For example, I recently acquired a first run Pro Aviar, and am interested in knowing when this disc was released, how many were produced and any other information I can.

If anyone knows where I could locate information like that, please post it on here.

mf100forever
Feb 07 2010, 08:17 AM
It was relased in 2004. Check out our data base for that kind off info:

http://www.discgolfsweden.se/discar/discar_sokdisc.aspx?DiscId=1889

ishkatbible
Feb 07 2010, 11:10 PM
i actually have one of those too! want to throw it but doubt i ever will

rickb
Feb 08 2010, 11:17 AM
There are a few sites online that provide release information including discgolfsweden.se and discgolfreview.com. You can also check the pdga data base for approved discs to get a general idea of release date. As for run numbers Innova generaly runs a skid of first run discs. This usually mean anywhere from 1500 to 2000. Or about 20 full cases.

As for determining value, the old addage "something is only worth what someone else is willing to pay for it" applies. Ebay may be your best indicator of a disc's value. Not the buy it now auctions but those that do take bids. Buy it now auctions are usually what an individual thinks thier disc is worth and those prices are often inflated.

When all else fails ask here. There are a number of collectors who have a pretty good idea about most discs produced that are willing to help and frequent the message boards.