Merkaba311
Jan 26 2009, 12:24 PM
Brief history of my disc golf experience: I've been throwing for about eight years and never really took it seriously until this previous summer. For the most part I golfed with one or two friends who knew as much about the game as I did but we always had a blast and just played for fun, never keeping track of score or taking it too seriously. We taught ourselves everything about the game, knowing only the disc had to make it to the basket, and making up everything in between.

I only threw forehand shots (except when putting) for basically the first five or six years I disc golfed. Backhand throws never really "clicked" for me until I started playing courses that required slow accurate shots...in other words backhand shots. After I learned the basics I essentially gave up on the forehand shots for the accuracy of the backhand.

Video I made yesterday of my different forms. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Y53C8EB6Rk)

My backhand driving form is pretty ugly and my knee and shoulder have suffered as a result of it. It wasn't until I saw my form on video that I realize I throw more like a bowler than a disc golfer. I had zero follow through. Throwing RHBH my right shoulder always ended facing the target.

So I'm wondering what it is about my form that I need to correct so it doesn't feel "natural" to throw like a bowler. I notice my head tends to pull hard to the right just before the release and I think that has something to do with it. I also think I lean back slightly with my old form which causes the "bowler leg."

To force a follow through, I lean forward over my front foot as I release. It seems to do the trick but I just can't get the power I can with my old form. On a good day with my bad form I can break 500' with my drives...with my new form it's tough to even break 350'. The new form I'm using, however, is much more accurate and reliable.