KMcKinney
Apr 17 2008, 04:51 PM
In the Competion Manual, Section 2.1 (I) it states:

I. A Tournament Director may, by giving adequate public
notice, restrict the divisions offered. Absent such notice,
the director shall offer for competition any division which
has four or more players that are eligible and wishing to
compete. Tournament Directors may offer divisions with
less than four players at their discretion.

A couple of questions:

1) What entails "Adequate Public Notice" and how is this information communicated to the public.

2) Has anyone ever got a division added in a tournament?

3) If you are a TD, have you ever added a division because 4 players asked? If so how did it work out?

What makes me ask this is that I am a Novice player, but many tournaments I go to do not offer Novice/AM4 divisions so I have to play up in Rec/AM3. I was wondering if I got 3 other players to go with it, how would I go about getting the division added and to do so, I need to know what is considered "Adequate Public Notice" that a division isn't being offered.

If listing the division being offered on the flyer is a defacto listing of division NOT being offered, how does a division ever get added?

NEngle
Apr 17 2008, 04:53 PM
Call the TD and ask.

cgkdisc
Apr 17 2008, 04:59 PM
Not including a division in the tourney flyer is not sufficient notice. All divisions are presumed to be offered unless stated that they won't be offered. Without stating a division will not be offered, the TD is obligated to offer the PDGA division if four players in that division show up and wish to enter it. Online pre-reg can make it difficult for a division not listed in the online reg form to be added without contacting the TD, especially if the event sells out to only the divisions offered in the pre-reg process.

KMcKinney
Apr 17 2008, 05:25 PM