fornia
Apr 15 2008, 10:17 PM
Hi!

I just bought a Discatcher Sport...

I've read online about adding an inner set of chains to baskets...

I was going to add six inner chains to make the total 24....???

Are there any regulations on the inner chains in general? Diameter?Size of the inner ring? Length of the inner chains?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!

Jason
[email protected]

cgkdisc
Apr 15 2008, 10:27 PM
Adding chains makes the basket not PDGA Approved. Removing the whole chain assembly however keeps the basket legal. Strange but true under current guidelines.

krazyeye
Apr 15 2008, 10:44 PM
Unbelievable. I am very close to being kicked off of here.

fornia
Apr 15 2008, 10:46 PM
Why is that?

fornia
Apr 15 2008, 10:48 PM
Thanks Chuck!

However, can I ask why people put the inner set on? If not approved, why would you pracitce one it.

Im a newbie...any insight would be great.

gnduke
Apr 15 2008, 10:53 PM
Innova used to sell an inner chain set for the Mach II new.

I ordered one for mine and after a few modifications was very happy with it.

cgkdisc
Apr 15 2008, 10:58 PM
It's not that inner chains are illegal, but the deflection device as approved is changed as a result of adding chains. If the inner chains are on the basket as manufactured, like the Discatcher Pro, then that version is approved as part of the overall basket approval. Because there are currently no guidelines for how chain deflectors are to be designed, there's no way to do a basket upgrade and retain approval.

However, anyone can submit a homemade basket design and get it approved if it meets the specs. The fee is $350 and your addition of inner chains should pass regardless how you do it. Note that except for the highest level events, having a PDGA approved portable basket is not required so I wouldn't worry about getting approval.

the_kid
Apr 15 2008, 11:11 PM