TheGatewayKid
May 02 2007, 01:21 AM
i feel that i'm easily a 950+ golfer but i've still yet to have a thousand rated round and after the string of three A-tiers i've played as an amateur my current rating will definitely plummet. i can't stand the ratings system. i've always thought of it to be unimportant but so many players bring it up wherever i go. the whole practice rounds vs. tournament rounds is absolutely killing me. why i can't play as SOLID in tournament rounds as i constantly do in every practice round i play just kills me. i have no idea what to do. i've almost come to conclusion that at the age of 20 i'm already past my disc golf prime. i have been steadily getting worse results over the past 3 or so years. WHAT DO I DO???

friysch
May 02 2007, 03:32 AM
From my limited tourney experience and from watching guys that do play a lot of tournaments, I've decided that at some point, you just have to do it. I don't really think there is a trick to it. Just be as focused as you possibly can and play well. In the two tournies I've played, most of the guys that end up playing badly either lack focus on routine shots (usually 15 foot putts or they'll throw in the one place that you just cannot throw and still card a good score on the hole) or they continually "go for broke" when it usually costs them strokes.

If you aren't playing open, you don't need tons of birdies to compete really well. Par is a good score on pretty much any hole as an am golfer. Obviously if you want to become a pro, you need to putt really well and you need to birdie the holes that should be birdied, but not so in the Am fields. Most players that I've seen fold during tournaments in the advanced division run at putts that they cannot make even 1 in 10 from and 3 putt. If you do that even twice a round, you're 20 points lower than what you think should be ratings wise.

That's my take at least.

MC

jmonny
May 02 2007, 01:24 PM