Scott9257
Mar 21 2007, 04:02 PM
So, I'm working on a promotional piece for my league / club. I got to thinking, is there any other club / league that has been in existance for as long as us? Please let me know... I'd hate to make the claim as being the oldest running league in the country if it wasn't true.

NRDG (Niagara Region Disc Golf) www.nrdg.net (http://www.nrdg.net)
Founded in 1989, by Doug Opiela in Memorial of his brother Don.
I've been assisting / running the league since 1992.
We meet every Wednesday from April - September. (24 weeks).
Average attendance over the last 3 years is 60.5 players.

Thanks for your input..

-Scott Alex #9257

gotcha
Mar 21 2007, 04:13 PM

Wow!

ck34
Mar 21 2007, 04:36 PM
The Minnesota Frisbee Association is the oldest statewide club founded in 1975 and the Minnesota Summer event series started in the late 70s. www.mfaonline.org/about.htm (http://www.mfaonline.org/about.htm)

But I don't think we have a league that is still running that started before 1992.

gotcha
Mar 22 2007, 11:33 AM
So, I'm working on a promotional piece for my league / club. I got to thinking, is there any other club / league that has been in existance for as long as us? Please let me know... I'd hate to make the claim as being the oldest running league in the country if it wasn't true.

NRDG (Niagara Region Disc Golf) www.nrdg.net (http://www.nrdg.net)
Founded in 1989, by Doug Opiela in Memorial of his brother Don.
I've been assisting / running the league since 1992.
We meet every Wednesday from April - September. (24 weeks).

Thanks for your input..

-Scott Alex #9257

Hey Scott,

The following two DFW (Texas) clubs were established prior to 1989:

Arlington Disc Golf Association (established 1988)
Irving Disc Golf Association (established late 70's or early 80's)
I believe Dallas Disc Golf (formerly named Dallas Disc Golf Association) has been active since the mid-1980's, too.