Oct 12 2005, 04:29 AM
for an 8 year old that has only been playing for around 3 weeks?

paerley
Oct 12 2005, 04:39 AM
150-165 puts most 300 foot holes into the 3-4 range, which is great for an 8 year old, and really anyone who just picked up a disc for the first time.

bruce_brakel
Oct 12 2005, 09:58 AM

My wife and I have been teaching kids to play disc golf for five or six years. Yes, that is a very good start.

Oct 12 2005, 11:21 AM
Getting the disc out of your hand in the right direction is a great start. :D

seriously, every person who i have gotten into disc golf has taken at least a month to get that far. these are young adults too, so id say your wayy ahead of the game.

MTL21676
Oct 13 2005, 12:23 AM

Yes

for an 18 year old that has only been playing for around 3 weeks?

No

rangel
Oct 13 2005, 05:20 PM
Yes.

From the WFDF (World Flying Disc Federation). The distance records for 8 and under is 69.0m (225'). 165' is roughly 75% of 225'. This is really good.

Don't burn him (or her) out, but try and get the disc flat off the release. The juniors we've seen here seem to get the best results from throwing flat shots.

And PUTTING :D

Oct 21 2005, 07:20 AM
Is he throwing backhand or sidearm? I've noticed a lot of little kids start out with a sidearm. I have a 10 year old and a 12 year old nephew who both sidearm 200. I've taught them a backhand, but they just can't seem to get them as far (and yes I have them throwing understable 150 class stuff).

Oct 21 2005, 08:16 AM
Is he throwing backhand or sidearm? I've noticed a lot of little kids start out with a sidearm. I have a 10 year old and a 12 year old nephew who both sidearm 200. I've taught them a backhand, but they just can't seem to get them as far (and yes I have them throwing understable 150 class stuff).

He throws his longer drives sidearm, and backhand for every other throw. He got one out there about 225' last weekend.

What is it with these young kids being able to putt so well?

rangel