Oct 01 2005, 04:18 AM
I was just wondering what the average distance for a pro throw is. Sayyy on a 600ft hole that is 15ft. downhill from the tee. I've been playing for 3 years and I'd say my furthest throw was about 425ft. on a 500ft. hole. I've been getting better, but I still find it hard to believe that people can throw 800 ft. They gotta be on top of mountains or something crazy when they get these records

ck34
Oct 01 2005, 10:25 AM
These are laser rangefinder measurements I made in Houston at the 2002 Pro World Championships on level, open hole #7 on the Tourney course. These are the numbers for the top 36 Open players:
Longest Drive = 477 feet
Average = 378 feet
Shortest = 300 feet
The longest throw was a roller and 14 of the 36 throws were rollers. All were righthanded backhand throws. The eventual winner, Ken Climo, threw 360 feet. It was the shortest on the top card with the longest at 408. The wind was a minimal crosswind with little impact on distance.

Oct 01 2005, 10:39 AM
Distance is only one small component of a professional game and I wouldnt consider it the most important. Approach and putt are critical. Those are the shots that lower your score. It's like they say "Drive for show, putt for dough."

Oct 01 2005, 10:46 AM
That makes me feel so good about my game : )

I've only been playing about 6 months & I'd say my longest throw, on level ground was around 280. I don't throw sidearm, but I got one about 290 sidearmed (I'm just not consistent enough to use it during play)
That was actual distance too. Not message board .lol. Like I'd brag about 280.
I practice in a softball field & I measured from home plate to center field. 300'. So I know my measurements are pretty accurate.
My goal this year is too throw one over the fence and I better hurry to do it before (ack) snow starts falling. = )