Sep 24 2005, 04:44 PM
When I throw I use my index and middle fingers under the lip of the disc. I can throw around 300 ft or so on a good day. I havnt really tried throwing with a power grip but have read alot about it. Would it make a substantial difference if I changed?

Sep 24 2005, 04:55 PM
There's only one real way to find out. Try it.

I'm a total rookie player, but I've always used the 3 finger power grip. (but have tried just about every known grip)
Well, I've been having problems getting good power to the disc so today I started using a 4-finger power grip & noticed an immediate improvement in distance.
I can't put everything on the grip though because when I switched to 4 finger I was cocking my wrist a bit more. So maybe with the extra grip I felt more comfortable moving the wrist?
Practice practice.

Sep 24 2005, 08:32 PM
does something not feel right when you put the other two fingers underneath? i agree with whatsisname above me... try it out.

personally, i use a 4-fingered power grip for everything... even putts and throwing ultimate discs. this is because i have small hands and i can't support the disc in my hand without all those fingers. with really big hands... the opposite could be true... all that finger gettin' in the way.

innova's website has a section that shows a BUNCH of different grips. definitely check it out.

Boneman
Sep 24 2005, 11:21 PM
I use a three finger powergrip for most shots. I can use a 4 finger, but I'm not used to it yet. I have found that with the 4 finger, I can turn over discs that are stable-understable more easily. This can be a very good thing, but takes some practice to get used to. So, that said, the 4 finger is great when you need all the power you can get, but expect to flip some discs ... I still like the 3 finger for turnover shots with a little more power control.

Sep 25 2005, 10:24 AM
The problem with the 4 finger grip for me is that I constantly grip lock.

Sep 25 2005, 12:32 PM