Aug 11 2005, 01:18 AM
I am just learning Rollers recently. In my forehand Roller I have been throwing immediately at the ground and rolling it from the gitgo.
And also I have been throwing it in the air about 50ft. or so and then let it roll.
I have had better luck with the latter.

Which technique of these two do some of the others here recommend ??

Aug 11 2005, 06:14 AM
I ahve never even tried a forehand roller. When do you use them?

CraigS
Aug 11 2005, 08:12 AM
I've been throwing a forehand roller most of the summer using a 174g champ monster. because we all know it's overstable to begin with, i throw it like this: / with two fingers under the flight plate. my approach is sort of like an nfl kicker's, i set up slightly left of the tee pad/marker, and i use a step, hop, step approach (just like throwing a normal forehand - just with a lot more hip turn). also, and maybe more importantly, i make a concerted effort to "snap" my wrist straight down. using the monster, i can throw it out right and be absolutely positive that it will come back left. for shorter distances and more accuracy, use a slower disc and less wrist at the release point. i've rolled a soft wizard up a small hill through some small saplings to a guarded basket.

as for your initial question... i do give it some air time, but too much and i feel like the disc spins out quicker to the left. and just remember that unlike a backhand roller that goes right-left-right, a forehand roller just goes right to left. hope this helps :D

slo
Aug 11 2005, 01:52 PM
I can get my better ones to 350'; they remain in the air more like 100'.

...this is my favorite shot; it's like obverse bowling. :)

tbender
Aug 11 2005, 02:19 PM
Pushing it out to 75-100' before ground contact is about the max for me. Any farther and you're better off with a BH roller, IMO. I'll get a FH roller out to 400'+ consistantly (max is about 550' with favorable ground and wind).