Aug 05 2005, 05:02 PM
After learning the basics of disc golf and then kinda forgettin about it for a few years, I've been playing seriously for a few months. I finally decided to learn to throw forehand and have had pretty good results with a chamion firebird (171g). My problem is I can't seem to throw any mid-range discs well forehand and don't have the control to throw shorter shots with the firebird. Thanks for your help.

p.s the midrange discs I have tried are dx shark, dx roc, kc pro roc, kc pro aviar.

Aug 05 2005, 05:07 PM
You may want to try using less arm motion and conecntrating on flicking your wrist more. Also experiment with nose angles. I find my midrange discs and putters fly better when I try and throw them more nose up (but still relatively flat) when throwing forehand.

I'm finding that a short forehand shot (<200') with a putter is extremely useful and can be super accurate.

Aug 05 2005, 05:35 PM
I can't put any power into my forehands at all, so the only time I can realluse a forehand is on a mid or approach. For me the best disc is a dx roc with more snap than arm

Aug 05 2005, 07:57 PM
I second what has already been said. Use a lot less arm speed/motion - when throwing a putter you want a short controlled motion and a clean snap. Also, you will want to release the disc slightly higher up than you would with a driver. The best way to practice this is actually to get about 40 or 50 feet from the basket and practice throwing short distances. Try releasing the disc at different angles - a slight bit of anhyzer is best for me. Any putter will work for this kind of shot, but I recommend something stable like a challenger (soft or pro d) or maybe an aviar.

This will take practice, but is an extremely useful shot to have. It is excellent for tight gaps, navigating trees or if you have off balance footing.

Aug 05 2005, 08:21 PM