Aug 05 2005, 02:03 AM
I'm pretty new to the game of disc golf. I've been playing for about 5 months. I've gotten to where I can shoot par to 4-5 over consistentl, and I think adding a few new shots would trim a few strokes. I'd like to add a few specialty throws to my game and was looking for advice on how to (ie. angle of release and flight pattern to look for etc), and what discs to use for certain throws such as:

1. tomahawk
2. thumber
3. pancake
4. roller bh and fh
5. spike hyzer (i'm not sure what this is)
6. scoobie
7. other specialty shots that don't get mentioned

I throw mainly rhbh, but frequently (15-20%) rhfh on drives and approaches.

Aug 05 2005, 02:17 AM
I'm pretty new to the game of disc golf. I've been playing for about 5 months. I've gotten to where I can shoot par to 4-5 over consistentl, and I think adding a few new shots would trim a few strokes. I'd like to add a few specialty throws to my game and was looking for advice on how to (ie. angle of release and flight pattern to look for etc), and what discs to use for certain throws such as:

1. tomahawk: <font color="red"> You would mostly use something stable like a firebird/Monster/etc.. defiantely a driver and a stable one.. They come out of their turns quicker and seem more forgiving when you throw them. THis is basically like a baseball pitch type throw. you can play around with angles, but i like to have the disc like this: \ when i toss it. That way it turns early. </font>
2. thumber <font color="red"> I don't throw these, but i'd think the same idsc.. you are only changing your grip and angle. </font>
3. pancake <font color="red"> If i remember correctly this is basically landing a disc upside down so it slides. YOu can use anything for this shot. I usually use a putter for closer shots and put a big angle on it.. almost like this: - as a small overhand shot. </font>