Aug 01 2005, 11:17 PM
I am a beginner to intermediate player who has been working lately primarily on power and distance. I play at a normal length course about 25 minutes away but just recently a real short nine hole course (120 to 190 feet) was put in about 5 minutes away from me. how much does throwing max power rocs and putters help in improving my distance with drivers? would I be better off if I teed off from different locations so I can actually use my drivers? Any help would be great. Thanks

Aug 01 2005, 11:29 PM
I would say practice that little 9 hole course as much as you can to improve your upshots(100ft and in) , creativity with shots around the green and around and over trees. And of course your Putting.

And also practicing your form and distance with Rocs will benefit your technique and ultimately your distance in Driving.

Anything like shooting at trees in your front yard or practicing "air shots" with your wrist flipping back and forth will add benefit in getting better in DG !!

Most people can't get on a DG Course everyday. But they can do things right at home to get better at DG !!

stevemaerz
Aug 01 2005, 11:29 PM
Throwing midranges and putters off the tee will help with keeping your tempo smooth. (overstable drivers hide flutter and wrist roll).
However to increase all out distance I'd reccomend going to an open field once or twice a week with about ten drivers and throw all out end to end experimenting with tempo, elbow bend, x-step etc. Field practice, I've found to be more productive in achieving distance gains than course practice. That short nine holer should help with accuracy and practicing specialty shots such as sidearms, rollers and tomahawks.
Good luck!

discgolfreview
Aug 01 2005, 11:51 PM