AlmaWillie
Jul 19 2005, 01:30 AM
Hey guys and girls,
I am new to the sport ( 3-4 months now) and have been doing a lot of reading on it. I have seen people talking about throwing a roller and getting 300-400+ft with it. I have tried and I may have gotten 200 a time or two. Can someone please tell me the proper technique to throw a roller. I put my thunb inside the rim, index finger on top of disc and chunk it overhand about 40-50 ft high and out. Mine goes up, turns over right, fades back left and hits the ground at a dead stop. What am I doing wrong ? Thanks for any help you an give.

paerley
Jul 19 2005, 01:46 AM
if you're accurate with that, that's a pretty decent thumber shot.

I've always thrown a very understable disc(4 year old beat stratus, or something similar) on an annehyzer line with a little bit of air under it. If I throw hard, it'll flip all the way over to vertical and land on edge and roll. RHBH puts clockwise rotation on a disc, if looking at the top. Understable discs want to turn right, or turn over. If you release an understable disc on an annehyzer line, it'll turn virtical and dive into the ground, landing on the edge that means the rotation your snap puts on it is rolling down the fairway. The idea of a distance roller is finding a disc that you can get to fly pretty far in the air before it catches an edge. The more understable or beat the disc is, the faster it'll turn over, so the less annehyzer you'll need to put on it. The reason I say a little bit of air under it is, you want the disc to moving forward at a speed close to the tangential velocity of the edge of the disc(think, the speed the very outer edge of the disc is spinning at). Also, more time in the air means less time you have to contend with the unpredictable earth under it.

discgolfreview
Jul 19 2005, 03:14 AM
http://www.discgolfreview.com/resources/articles/throwingrollers.shtml

discette
Jul 19 2005, 11:09 AM