Jul 12 2005, 06:14 PM
I've been playing pretty consistently for 7 years and have never learned how to throw a proper forehand. I throw 450+ lhbh and I have always simply thrown a turnover instead of a forehand. I am to the point now that I need to learn how to do it.

I've tried off and on over the years, and can get a CE firebird 175g out there about 300 feet, but have never been able to control the direction, height or flight path. It just feels aukward and practicing hasn't helped much. I see some guys throw them so consistently, but they usually have never learned to throw a backhand and I haven't received much help. Any pointers?

Lisle

Jul 12 2005, 06:25 PM
pop it waist high like throwing a low side arm baseball shot. I use the 2 finger fan. Just throw with 50% until you feel the mechanics start to take over. You will have it in like 2 days. :D

Jul 12 2005, 06:32 PM
For your 2 finger fan, which finger is against the rim? Or are they both on it? Where is your thumb?

Jul 12 2005, 07:05 PM
middle finger on the rim putting pressure on the flight plate between thumb and middle finger. (pinching point). I separate my fingers for 300-350 and put them together for the flicking effect going deeper with an S flight. THROW IT FLAT!!!!

Jul 12 2005, 07:34 PM
Thanks, I'll give it a go.

Jul 12 2005, 11:32 PM
There are three different grips for sidearm throws. I will explain how I grip it (the way the gives me the most control).