May 17 2005, 12:37 AM
I have been playing for about 4 years now and have always thrown with the same old power grip. That was how I naturally gripped the disc and I didn't even know the term 'power grip' existed until I started reading stuff online.

Anyways, I'll get to the point. Just last week, my grip all of a sudden changed. Now when I release, my ring finger and pinky are coming off before I release and I am releasing with just the index and middle finger. This produces no snap whatsoever, but a ton of spin.

This grip problem has cost me accuracy big time (especially with drivers) and seems to have taken away 20 feet away from my average drive. Now I am struggling to hit the 370-380 mark consistantly. I find myself having to throw less stable discs for distance to compensate for the lack of snap.

I have tried everything to get my release back to the power grip like I have thrown for the past 4 years, but it seems like my natural throw has changed to the 2 finger release.

This really makes me mad because I was throwing my drives great and accurate the whole year before this happened.

Has anyone that throws with the power grip experienced this? If so, why is it happening? I just can't seem to release it the way I used too. :confused:

z Vaughn z
May 17 2005, 01:20 AM
Try Keeping the third knuckle(closest to the fingertip) on your ring and pinky, bent. That will give more resistance to the disc ripping out of your hand.

discgolfreview
May 17 2005, 07:18 AM
from the sound of it, you are getting snap, just weaker rip/snap. technically, you should only feel rip on 1 contact point with the power grip (generally the pad of the index finger), but i find very few people that differentiate between lock release and disc rip.

i'm not sure exactly what you are describing, but it is most likely one of two things.

1) your pinkey/ring fingers are leaving while the disc is still close to your body turning your grip into a 2-finger grip for the final part of the throw.