Apr 10 2005, 02:41 PM
ive been playing disc golf for about 3 weeks...

i got a driver yesterday (innova cheetah) and i cant seem to get very good distance at all. i am working on my release and it seems to get better but sometimes when i throw it it goes like this: / and slams into the ground with horrible distance. any pointers? again, i am pretty new to the game and i am still working on my release. i find that i release a more solid shot when i keep my feet stuck to the ground, but i dont get much distance.

Apr 10 2005, 03:07 PM
I think on discgolfreview.com they state that it is better to learn to throw from a standstill first until you get your technique down a little.. then you can incoporate what we call an X-step... www.discgolfreview.com (http://www.discgolfreview.com) has lots of articles for all skill levels on throwing a disc.

Best thing to do would be to NOT throw the driver for a while..
if you have putters and midranges(Aviars and Rocs, etc) just stick to them for now until you can get your technique down..
Slower discs are easier to control and a driver is the Fastest and that is what makes it so Hard to control. They are also more Stable and for a beginner all they will want to do is "hyzer" or Spike left for a right handed backhand thrower.

Stick to your putters and midranges for now until you get a solid technique down.
Just remember to try and keep your wrist down like you are shaking someone's hand and that will help to keep the nose down so they disc doesn't Go up like a Rocket and stall 50feet in front of you.

hope that helped a little

-Scott Lewis

Apr 10 2005, 04:13 PM
also a cheetah isn't a long distance driver.

when you are ready to drive just hold the fribee level like so: - and the release it at an angle like this: -+\ (there is no inbetween symbol so i will have to merge them by mathmatics) That would be called anhyzer(i do believe, correct me if i'm wrong).