Jan 26 2005, 03:59 PM
With all this talk about distance i jsut want to know how many people when they FIRST started out could (CRUSH). And the time it took for you to figure it out, if you could not

cbdiscpimp
Jan 26 2005, 04:07 PM
What do you consider CRUSHING distance. 400??? 500??? 600???

I started playing seriously about 2 years ago and i dont think i could even throw 300 then. It took me about a year of practicing and watching the pros. Schweby and Brinster also helped me gain some distance on my drives during a clinic they gave at my home course. I would say it took me a little over a year to learn to throw over 400 when i was just throwing for distance. And just last year i was able to push it out past 500 and even out to 550. It all depends on your throwing style and your technique and if you are athletic or not. I dont think anyone that first picks up a disc is going to be able to CRUSH right away. You have to learn to throw far just like you have to learn anything else. Its not something you can just do without practicing.

I would say it took me 1 year to CRUSH if you think 400 is crushing and about 20 months to REALLY CRUSH which would be over 500. :D

Jan 26 2005, 04:20 PM
ty pimp

cbdiscpimp
Jan 26 2005, 04:24 PM
If TY means thank you then your welcome :D

If not i have no idea what to say :confused:

Jan 26 2005, 05:30 PM
I started learning how to throw a disc back in June 2004. A month later I played my first round of disc golf, my best throw was 230ft. As of Jan 2005, I can reach 300-320ft on a good throw. My lay-up shoots are good, I can par most holes in the 400-500ft range. I can throw 200ft standing still. Which comes in handy for hairy shots where a run up isn't possible.

My exp.

I would practice my drives an hour each day for a month. A friend of mine who started a few months ahead of me can reach 400ft now. Those of us who are not 6ft tall and skinny have to practice more. At the rate I'm going I should reach 400ft by the end of the year.